National Arab American Heritage Month: Primary & Secondary Sources

Unique collection of documents related to Afghanistan history, culture, and its development during the Jihad period and more. ACKU’s permanent collection is the most extensive in the region covering a time of war and social upheaval in the country, with most of the documents in English or the principal languages of Pashto and Dari.

A large collection of materials on Afghanistan in the US. Most of the documents are in English, Persian, and Pashto.

[AMEEL] is a Web-based portal and a digital collection of information for the study of the Middle East, including its history, culture, development, and contemporary face. Within this portal, Yale University Library integrates existing scholarly digital content with newly digitized resources to make such materials easier to find and use efficiently and freely.

is a gateway to our digitized and preserved collections featuring manuscripts, maps, photos, posters, books, multimedia and other resources. This online growing repository aims to continuously disseminate knowledge about AUB, the region, our history and cultural heritage for the purpose of research, teaching and education. It is also a hub for collaboration with other departments, faculties, scholars in addition to external partners libraries and institutions to support digital scholarship initiatives.

[FRANCE] Ministère français de l'Europe et des affaires étrangères (MEAE). Histoire diplomatique * Documents diplomatiques * Ministères des Affaires étrangères * Des diplomates : formation, récits et portraits * Droit international * Traités, accords et conventions * Protectorats et mandat français * Publications officielles étrangères ou intergouvernementales.

"The Birzeit University Digital Palestinian Archive (BZUDPA) is dedicated to documenting the life of Palestinians and their institutions over the past century, from Ottoman times to the present.The project, launched in 2011, aims to preserve a large variety of documents, written and audio-visual, relating to the history of the Palestinian people over the past century, and donated by individuals, families and popular organizations. Birzeit, as a national university, is fully committed to placing its technical and academic resources at the service of this project, which continually digitizes, places online and makes available a wide variety of documents. "

Palestinian Official Gazette since 1994 after the Palestinian National Authority assumed its responsibilities in the West Bank and Gaza Strip. Legislations are arranged in chronological order according to the Official Gazette publications, i.e. according to issue number and date.

The ISAM library was established in 1984 with the purpose of collecting the publications necessary to prepare the TDV Encyclopedia of Islam under one roof ... (İslam Araştırmaları Merkezi) is the best research library in Turkey for Ottoman and Islamic studies."

digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.

(Arabic manuscripts in the British Library; Arabic manuscropts in the library of SOAS, University of London): ASU Libraries is affilated member, therefore all CRL materials are availble for interlibrary loan.

is an archival collection that contains more than 1,000 hours of testimonies with first generation Palestinians and other Palestinian communities in Lebanon. The project will digitize, index, catalog, preserve, and provide access to the digitized interviews.

Collection of print and visual resources. Use limiters in left column to focus search on specific geography, date range, topic or type of resource.

(2d rev. ed.) - 94th Congress, 1st Session, 1975

The collection, U.S. Policy toward Iran: From the Revolution to the Nuclear Accord, 1978-2015, published on December 12, 2019, consists of 1,760 documents and almost 14,000 pages of materials mostly obtained via the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) or culled from years of research at the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration and its associated presidential library system. Additional records come from British archives and other sources and include selected Iranian materials.

During the 19th century, the journey to Cairo, the second city after Rome for its exceptional number of monuments, formed part of the “Grand Tour” of many artists and architects. With Andalusian and Persian buildings, the architecture of Medieval Cairo has occupied a central position in the discovery of Islamic art. European heritage institutions thus hold collections of very valuable graphic works and photographs of academic and artistic interest and, due to the gradual disappearance of this architectural heritage, historical significance. Of the 800 monuments identified in 1880, 300 no longer exist today. These collections sometimes contain the only documentation still surviving relating to these buildings, which have been destroyed, are badly damaged or have been radically transformed. These rich, varied collections which are often unique in character nevertheless remain almost invisible and unexploited due to a lack of appropriate indexation. More precisely this type of corpus raises specific difficulties for processing in terms of identification and indexation, due to multiple variants caused by transliteration into Latin characters of Arabic place names. Indeed, there are a very large number of disparities in the spelling of monument names and this “cacography” remains problematic for document processing and the interoperability of data. The InVisu laboratory has therefore created a reference tool on the monuments of Cairo in the form of a concordance table that lists the spelling variations of toponyms, allowing the 600 listed buildings of Cairo to be identified, described and located. The monuments were then located in the geographical database GeoNames (over 400 monuments were created), which has enabled their geographical location to be collected and some of the data from this resource has been displayed in Linked Open Data. The Cairo Gazetteer project aims to make this entire reference tool available to the Europea

Garth Fowden is a historian of first millennium CE Eurasia, who in pursuit of his interests has travelled extensively in the Mediterranean, the Middle East and North Africa. For the greater part of his career he has lived and worked in Greece. This site presents a digitized version of the photographic archive he developed while conducting research on the landscapes and monuments of these regions. . The main regions covered are Greece, Turkey, Syria, Jordan, Iran and Yemen, and less extensively Spain, Italy, Lebanon, Palestine and Egypt. Within each site, the photographs are arranged in a sequence designed to convey some sense of a physical visit, sometimes starting and/or ending with more general shots of the surrounding landscape and of the routes that traverse it. Photographs taken on site are occasionally supplemented by items from museums or print publications designed to make the collection more suitable for teaching purposes.

The collection consists of the personal accounts of 134 individuals who played major roles in or were eyewitnesses to important political events in Iran from the 1920s to the 1980s. Of these, 118 narratives have been digitized and are available to researchers through this database.

U.S. [Library of Congress]

The Arabian Gulf Digital Archive (“AGDA”) is an online archive that has been created to showcase historical and cultural material that tells the history of the Arabian Gulf. Offers digital material that spans two centuries, documenting events and personalities that have shaped and defined the region. AGDA contains, among other things, letters, memos, transcripts, photos and official correspondence from leaders and governments that shaped the events of their time. It’s a free and open resource for students, researchers, enthusiasts and anyone who is curious to explore the rich and varied past of the Arabian Gulf.

Discovering Sacred Texts provides access to the richness and diversity of the texts from some of the world’s greatest faiths. Discover more about the sacred texts from Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Sikhism and the Baha’i Faith, Jainism and Zoroastrianism.

British Library Project "Turn the Pages" of Sacred Texts. This seven-volume Qur’an was produced in Cairo for Rukn al-Dīn Baybars, who later became the Mamluk Sultan Baybars II. It is the earliest dated Qur’an from the Mamluk period.

Compiled by: Rubina Ramji, Lucy MacDonald and Alyssa MacDougall. This research database offers articles and media dealing with topics on Muslim women. [Religion and Diversity Project, hosted at the University of Ottawa,]

A digital archive that focuses on Western interactions with the Middle East, particularly travels to Egypt during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.