LibGuides: Judaic Studies: Multimedia Resources

Infobase Films on Demand Series

Each video series covers a range of topics within the subject theme they can vary in number of Film Titles, Film length and copyright currency.

Credo: An Introduction to the Major Religious Traditions of Europe This series provides a concise introduction to the five major religious traditions of Europe—a Europe that transcends economic and political borders. Each program contains interviews with some of the highest authorities on each particular tradition, as well as interviews with ordinary believers. Particular attention is paid to the cultural and political implications of each faith. 10-part series, 30 minutes each.
Don't Forget Your Passport Don’t Forget Your Passport is a continuing journey into the fascinating cultures and stunning landscapes that make up our ever-changing planet. Don’t Forget Your Passport is your ticket to an adventurous worldwide tour, hosted by a group of energetic and curious world travelers from around the globe.
more...less...
Awesome cinematography provides the backdrop for those spur-of-the-moment, intriguing, crazy yet absolutely real situations that only the most intrepid travellers find themselves in. Living with the cave-dwelling Berber tribes of North Tunisia, hiking through the polar cap villages of Greenland, or being caught in the middle of a street brawl in Guatemala. Start your journey around the world with this fearless and fun series!
Essentials of Faith Some of history’s most violent religious conflicts have taken place among people who profess the same beliefs. Are there insights to be learned from schisms within faiths? This seven-part series exposes the internal arguments and core beliefs of the world’s major religions. Examining Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Hinduism, and Buddhism—as well as the Humanist movement and the resurgence of Paganism—the series goes inside every manner of religious institution: temples, mosques, churches, as well as dynamic and colorful religious festivals. Each program presents an eye-opening, transformative view into a spiritual world that many viewers will find surprisingly complex. 7-part series, 24 minutes each.
The Founding Fathers and Insights Into Religious Freedom This series examines the lives of Jewish American in colonial times and how they interacted and influenced the founding fathers of the natoin.
Genius of the Modern World Karl Marx, Friedrich Nietzsche, and Sigmund Freud changed the landscape of the modern world. Together they re-imagined global economics, questioned the very foundations of morality and society, and unravelled the workings of the human mind. They were all born in the 19th century, a pivotal, tumultuous age that witnessed revolutions in industry, technology, and politics. Old certainties were breaking down. Science was undermining religious authority. Their challenge was to figure out what makes us human in a fast-evolving world, and to identify the hidden forces and ideas controlling our lives. It was a search that would drive Marx to poverty, and Nietzsche to psychological breakdown. Host Bettany Hughes discovers how these sceptical ‘masters of suspicion’ created ground-breaking, penetrating ways of seeing the world that still shape how we make sense of our lives today.
The Genocide Factor While the term "genocide" is a product of the 20th century, the phenomenon is not; massacres and brutality riddle humankind’s past. Introduced by Academy Award-winning actor John Voight, this series presents the definitive, most comprehensive overview of the history of genocide. With the aid of an impressive array of scholars, experts, eyewitnesses, and survivors from around the world, the programs examine the complex dimensions of human nature’s darkest side. Viewer discretion is advised. 4-part series, 57 minutes each.
The Holocaust The Holocaust, the mass destruction of more than 6 million Jewish lives during World War II, has the sort of gravity that few other topics do. This four-part series explores the significance of the Holocaust across time, from its beginnings to the modern day, with the respect and sensitivity that it deserves. Essential viewing, history students will find it to be comprehensive in coverage, if challenging in subject.
I BELIEVE-with Dennis Wholey “In America’s rapidly changing culture, it’s not enough to tolerate diversity; we need to actively seek to learn and respect the way other people live, what they believe, and how they worship.” Over the course of this 26-part series, which aired on public television, Dennis Wholey visits churches, synagogues, mosques, temples, and other houses of worship to respectfully inquire into some of the many faiths that enrich the spiritual life of the United States. Each program features an interview with a knowledgeable representative about beliefs and practices, history, and related sociocultural issues, and most include a brief visit inside the sacred space. Wholey rounds out the series with a thought-provoking interfaith roundtable discussion. An indispensable addition to any college, university, or public library religious video collection. 26-part series, 27 minutes each.
Jerusalem: The Making of a Holy City Acclaimed historian and author Simon Sebag Montefiore (Jerusalem: The Biography) explores the rise and fall and rise again of Jerusalem, one of the world’s oldest cities, in this three-part series. Each compelling program illuminates the history of the sacred city and explains how and why it became so important to the Jewish, Christian, and Islamic faiths. “This is not just a biography or a history,” Montefiore explains. “It is also an anatomy of holiness, a study of how sanctity develops and mutates and adapts throughout history.” A BBC Production. 3-part series, 50 minutes each.
Jewish Law: Belief and Practice Often going unnoticed by the secular world, the traditions and philosophy of Orthodox Judaism require rigorous attention to every aspect of daily life. This three-part series follows a community of rabbis and their families over several days, providing an inside look at their work, household activities, and religious gatherings. Viewers who have little or no knowledge of Jewish culture will encounter a new and fascinating perspective—one that explores many applications of Jewish law and provides an understanding of the commitment, hard work, and personal rewards it involves. 3-part series, 50 minutes each.
Theodor Herzl and the Birth of Israel Modern Day Israel has been called a miracle. The country has blossomed into a vibrant nation of prosperity, beauty, culture and innovation. It all began with the dream and actions of Theodor Herzl. In seven thought-provoking lectures, Dr. Daniel Polisar—one of the world’s leading experts on Theodor Herzl—uncovers the true story of Herzl’s conversion to Zionism and inspires us with Herzl’s vision, strategy, leadership, and deep Jewish pride that led to the Birth of Modern Day Israel.
World War II & Cinema This series covers cinema during the World War II. Please see episodic synopsis for details.

YouTube Series

Around the Word Biblical engagement and study of the word of God. Studying the Bible is important to the followers of Jesus Christ because understanding the meaning and the Scripture is one of the most important duty of the believers. We are not just read the Bible, we must meditate it day and night, so that it will make our way prosperous, and then we will have good success (Joshua 1:9). Paul encourages his fellow worker, Timothy to study the Word of God correctly and apply it properly (2 Timothy 2:15). Studying the Bible is not easy work, because it may lead a person in a wrong conclusion. So, it is compelling for believers to study the Bible prayerfully and diligently to determine the correct meaning of the Bible, the Word of God.
Everyone Has a Story https://www.youtube.com/@everyonestory/featured
Food Network Welcome to the official YouTube channel of the Food Network. Food Network and foodnetwork.com explore the world of food in a fresh variety of ways while also giving viewers the technique-based knowledge they've come to trust.
Holy Scriptures and Israel The Holy Scriptures and Israel was founded for the purpose of sharing God’s word with the Jewish people. You can learn more about our ministry at http://www.holyscripturesandisrael.com.
Jews for Judaism Jews for Judaism strengthens and preserves Jewish identity by responding to religious coercion, promoting critical thinking skills, and providing spiritual guidance and support.
Living Strategically "Living strategically" is all about using our time, energy, money, and talents in ways that make an impact for eternity. It is acting with great intention and purpose, knowing that one day we will give an account to the Lord for our stewardship of His assets. To us, the Bible verses that define Living Strategically are Ephesians 5:15-17: “Therefore be careful how you walk, not as unwise men but as wise, making the most of your time, because the days are evil. So then do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.”
Unpacked At Unpacked, we make short videos that explore big questions and dissect complex topics. You’ll get all the information you need to easily navigate through these complicated issues and develop informed opinions about Israel and Judaism.
YIVO Institute for Jewish Research The YIVO Institute was founded in Berlin, Warsaw and in Vilnius (Vilna) in 1925 as the Yiddish Scientific Institute with the support of leading intellectuals and scholars. Its mission was to document, study and preserve Jewish life in all its forms. World War II forced YIVO to relocate from Vilnius to New York City, where it has continued its mission since 1940.

Judaic Studies Films

Essentials of Faith: Judaism
A shared heritage, a spiritual belief system, a set of rules for living—these are all aspects of Judaism, but the order in which they are emphasized varies greatly within the faith. This program features opinions from four articulate and sometimes controversial adherents to the Jewish religion who share their views on differences and similarities within Judaism. Highlighting the impact of the Holocaust and contrasts between the Sephardi and Ashkenazi traditions, the program participants include Rabbi and Baroness Julia Neuberger, Rabbi Barry Marcus of the Central London Synagogue, performer Uri Geller, and Jewish Museum education director Susanna Alexander. (24 minutes)
Future of Judaism: Twist of Faith
The very nature of Jewish identity is changing in the 21st century. In Israel, only a fifth of the population is religiously observant, but Orthodox Jews wield significant cultural and political power. In North America, many Jews have embraced a secular, humanistic form of Judaism, with nearly half marrying outside the faith. We meet a New York fashion designer who is bringing Jewish symbolism to a new audience, with provocative clothes influenced by Torah scrolls and ritual garments. Part of the series Twist of Faith. (22 minutes)
Judaism
A numerically small religion practiced by approximately 13 million members, Judaism nonetheless captures a large share of the world's attention-especially in the geopolitical arena. In this program, Hans Kung discusses the practice of Judaism in the United States, Israel, and Germany, as he studies the religion's commitment to its continued existence. (58:06 min.)
Reform Judaism
In this program, Dennis Wholey has a conversation about Reform Judaism with Senior Rabbi Lance J. Sussman of Congregation Keneseth Israel in Elkins Park, Pennsylvania. Topics of discussion include core beliefs of Judaism and distinctions between different Jewish denominations, the Torah, Moses, the complex ethnicity of Judaism, Zionism and Israel, the birth of Reform Judaism, and arguably the most significant challenge to practicing Judaism in the U.S.: weekly services that fall on Friday and Saturday, out of synch with the societal patterns of mainstream America. In addition, Andrew Flame, president of Keneseth Israel, tours viewers through the synagogue. (27 minutes)

Israel, Middle East: Don't Forget Your Passport
Host Tanya Shaw travels by jeep trough the heart of the remote Negev Desert where she explores the ancient Roman trade route to Egypt. Tanya repels a steep cliff at sunset; swims with dolphins, and dives in pristine coral reefs in the gulf of Acaba along the border of Jordan. She sleeps in a working kibbutz, tours the historical ruins of Masada, and feels the healing power of medicinal mud at the Dead Sea. Tanya finishes her journey in the ancient city of Jerusalem and the modern playground of Tel Aviv. (44:56 min.)
Holy Lands 1—Jerusalem and the West Bank: Globe Trekker
This Globe Trekker episode follows Zay Harding's trip to the Holy Lands, where he explores the religious and historical sites and the political tensions between Israel and Palestine. In the ancient city of Jerusalem he visits the iconic Dome of The Rock, the Church of the Holy Sepulchre, and the Western Wall, gets a lesson in orthodox Judaism, and walks through one of the oldest cemeteries in the world. Zay then takes a local bus past separation walls and military check points to the Palestinian West Bank and the bustling city of Ramallah. He visits the father of the Palestinian Liberation Movement, Yasser Arafat’s tomb and chats with some of the locals before checking out the extraordinary graffiti along its separation wall. To end his journey Zay travels to the lowest place on Earth and takes a swim in the Dead Sea. (42 minutes)
Holy Lands 2—Israel: Globe Trekker
This Globe Trekker episode follows Zay Harding as he explores Israel. In part two of the Holy Lands, Zay's journey starts in Nazareth, where he embarks on a two-day hike along the Jesus Trail to the Sea of Galilee. He visits the tiny hilltop town of Tsfat, famous as the birthplace of Kabbalah, and the medieval town of Akko to explore the ruins of an underground city from the time of the Crusades. Traveling down the coast, Zay stops for a few days of R&R in Tel Aviv that includes a visits to Tel Aviv's Pride Festival. His visits end in the Negev Desert, where he visits Ben Gurion University and sets out on a breathtaking mountain biking trip to Mitzpe Ramon. (47 minutes)

A History of Hebrew: Its Language and Philosophy
The history of the Hebrew alphabet, language, culture, philosophy and the Bible.
The History & Revival of the Hebrew Language
This week, we’re looking at the revival of the Hebrew language. While the Bible and some religious texts were written in ancient Hebrew, it hadn’t been spoken in daily life for centuries.
The Origins of Hebrew
As the name suggests, the Hebrew Bible is written, mostly, in Hebrew. But what is the earliest history of this language? What language did the ancient Israelites speak? This episode examines the origins of Hebrew and its relationship with Canaanite dialects in the Late Bronze Age and Early Iron Age. The episode will explore archaeological artifacts such as an inscription from Izbet Sarteh in Israel, which may be one of the earliest inscriptions of the Hebrew language.(10:59 min.)

Essentials of Faith: Judaism
A shared heritage, a spiritual belief system, a set of rules for living—these are all aspects of Judaism, but the order in which they are emphasized varies greatly within the faith. This program features opinions from four articulate and sometimes controversial adherents to the Jewish religion who share their views on differences and similarities within Judaism. Highlighting the impact of the Holocaust and contrasts between the Sephardi and Ashkenazi traditions, the program participants include Rabbi and Baroness Julia Neuberger, Rabbi Barry Marcus of the Central London Synagogue, performer Uri Geller, and Jewish Museum education director Susanna Alexander. (24 minutes)
Future of Judaism: Twist of Faith
The very nature of Jewish identity is changing in the 21st century. In Israel, only a fifth of the population is religiously observant, but Orthodox Jews wield significant cultural and political power. In North America, many Jews have embraced a secular, humanistic form of Judaism, with nearly half marrying outside the faith. We meet a New York fashion designer who is bringing Jewish symbolism to a new audience, with provocative clothes influenced by Torah scrolls and ritual garments. Part of the series Twist of Faith. (22 minutes)
Making Light in Terezin: A Documentary on Art vs. Death
This film follows a modern day Minnesota theater group as they travel to Terezin to perform a cabaret piece originally created and enacted there during WWII. Weaving together interviews with performers, Holocaust survivors and scholars discussing Jewish humor, Jewish history and more, it tells a story not only of survival but also the triumph of a culture, artistic expression, and the human spirit. (1;28;04 min.)
Roots and Wings: A Jewish Congregation
What does it mean to be Jewish? Too few people outside of the religion know Judaism as a living community shaped by thousands of years of a people’s relationship with God and the world. This program introduces a Jewish congregation and presents the ways in which Judaism is passed on from generation to generation in a predominantly Christian society. (29 minutes)

Viral: Antisemitism in Four Mutations
Antisemitism in the US and Europe is worsening in ways not seen since the 1930s, mutating across cultures, borders and ideologies. Explore its infectious behavior through interviews with victims, witnesses, antisemites, and others. Distributed by PBS Distribution. (1:21:34 min.)
Anti-Semitism in the 21st Century: The Resurgence—Educator's Edition
Weaving together interviews, official photos and documents, home movies, and archival film, this 90-minute film explores the complex social and political factors that shaped America's response to the Holocaust. The story of Kurt Klein, who struggled with State Department red tape to free his parents from Eastern Europe, represents America's reaction to European Jews clamoring for rescue. (1:22:50 min.)

Eyewitness to History: William L. Shirer
In the course of his long career as a journalist, William L. Shirer was an eyewitness to the history of our times. Fresh out of college, he started as a reporter in Europe in the 1920s, went to India to cover Mahatma Gandhi, and then joined the pioneers of radio broadcasting. He reported for CBS from Berlin on the rise of Hitler, and watched the surrender of France to Germany from the front lines. When Nazi censorship made honest reporting impossible, Shirer returned to the U.S., broadcasting a weekly news analysis on CBS, and publishing his first novel. His best-selling books, among them Berlin Diary, The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich, and a trilogy of memoirs, have given readers a front-seat view of major events. In this program with Bill Moyers, Shirer discusses his experiences as a journalist in Europe, his firsthand impressions of Hitler, and expresses his concerns about the reunified Germany. (50 minutes)
Life is Strange
Life is Strange evokes the vibrant life of Jewish families in pre-World War II Europe through childhood memories of survivors. Intimate conversations with people from all walks of life are presented against a tapestry of rare footage that takes us into the heart of pre-war Yiddish culture. (53:21 min.)
Surviving the Holocaust
Join Ann Curry as Holocaust survivors search for those who gave them hope in the darkest days. One wants to find the friend he left behind when he didn’t move to Israel; the other hopes to reunite with the girl who was his first friend. Distributed by PBS Distribution. (54:36 min.)

The Bielski Brothers
The Bielski Brothers commanded the largest Jewish partisan group operating in occupied Europe during World War II. They saved the lives of more Jews than Oscar Schindler and took revenge against hundreds of Nazis and collaborators. Remarkably, their story has never been told before on film. This moving and powerful program tells their unique story and how they built an entire town to house their 1,500 members half-underground in the primordial forests of Byelorussia. The program shows how the twin motivations of survival and revenge drove the Bielski partisans to succeed at all costs. The two surviving Bielski Brothers, who agreed to be interviewed for the first time in this program, explain how their unit was organized, and what life was like for the partisans in their four-year battle to survive and to seek revenge. (53 minutes)
Surviving The Holocaust - Freddie Knoller's War
As a young Jewish man, Freddie Knoller lived through World War II by unusual means and in extraordinary circumstances. After escaping Vienna as a teenage Jewish refugee he spent most of WWII living in the heart of occupied Paris with Nazi officers and Montmartre prostitutes, until the conflict eventually caught up with him. Fighting as part of the French Resistance, Knoller was betrayed and faced the horror of the concentration camps. Finally freed in April 1945, he weighed little more than 85 pounds. Telling his own story, in his own words, Knoller draws on intense memories that have defined him as a man to reveal the incredible adventure of his early life. A BBC Production. (50 min.)
Orchestra of Exiles
The thrilling story of how one man helped save Europe’s premiere Jewish musicians from obliteration by the Nazis. In the early 1930's Hitler began firing Jewish musicians across Europe. Overcoming extraordinary obstacles, violinist Bronislaw Huberman moved these great musicians to Palestine and formed a symphony that would become the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra. With courage, resourcefulness and an entourage of allies including Arturo Toscanini and Albert Einstein, Huberman saved nearly 1000 Jews - and guaranteed the survival of Europe's musical heritage. Featuring commentary by musical greats including Itzhak Perlman, Zubin Mehta and Joshua Bell, Orchestra of Exiles is a timeless tale of a brilliant young man coming of age, and the suspenseful chronicle of how his efforts impacted cultural history.

The Righteous Among the Nations are non-Jewish individuals who have been honored by Yad Vashem, Israel's Holocaust memorial, for risking their lives to aid Jews during the Holocaust. In 1963, a commission of Holocaust experts was formed to designate the criteria for awarding the honor of Righteous Among the Nations .In order to be awarded the Righteous Among the Nations, the individual's original motivation for helping Jews must have been to save them, rather than for personal gain. Those who have been named Righteous Among the Nations receive honorary citizenship of Israel.

A Voice Among the Silent: The Legacy of James McDonald
This program profiles James G. McDonald, one of the first Americans to meet face-to-face with Hitler in 1933. Shocked by Hitler's threats, McDonald, who was then High Commissioner for Refugees at the League of Nations, worked tirelessly to find safe have for refugees fleeing Nazi Germany. The program highlights McDonald's efforts to warn world leaders, including President Franklin Roosevelt and the future Pope Pius XII, of the looming tragedy. It follows his career as he was appointed the first US Ambassador to Israel by President Truman, showing the pivotal role he played in shaping the American-Israeli friendship. Based on McDonald's diaries and interviews with his daughter and others who knew him, the program portrays an individual whose bravery is a model for human decency and courage that is as relevant today as it was in his time. (54:05 min.)

America’s First Synagogues: Landmarks of Faith
This film tells the story of the Jewish pilgrims who founded Congregation Shearith Israel—a “Remnant of Israel”—in 1654 in the Dutch trading post of New Amsterdam, modern day New York City. Shearith Israel’s sister congregation, Touro Synagogue in Newport, RI, was built in 1763 and is the oldest continual Jewish house of worship in the U.S. Woven through this tale are Haym Solomon, who helped finance the American Revolution; Uriah Levy, the Naval Commodore who saved Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello from ruin; and Emma Lazarus, whose poetry captured the dreams of millions of immigrants to America. Viewers will also learn about the history of Sephardic Jews who fled to the New World to escape the Spanish Inquisition, and how the independent synagogue worship system developed in ancient Babylon.
The Ingathering
Ben-Gurion’s founding principles of the Israeli state were security and immigration. This program examines the history of Jewish immigration and the conflux of cultures that exist within the broader cultural/religious identity of the Israeli population. In addition to identifying as Jewish, Israelis also identify themselves as Polish, Russian, Hungarian, Romanian, Libyan, Algerian, Yemenite, and Ethiopian. Yet as the Jewish state prospers and grows, the latest wave of immigrants, the Ethiopians, feel unwelcome. The program explores the question of cultural identity and heritage in a multicultural society founded on a principle of inclusion for all Jewish people. (52 minutes)
The Jewish People: A Story of Survival—Educator's Edition
Despite centuries of suffering and displacement, the fabric of Jewish culture has never broken. This program examines the theme of survival and its connection to Jewish achievements. Viewers will encounter a wide range of topics, including the origins of Judaism, the world’s first major monotheistic religion; the flourishing of Jewish scholarship through Talmudic learning and Rabbinic Judaism; the golden age of Jewish creativity at the height of Islamic power; and the post-Holocaust continuity of the Jews as a people, a state, and a collective voice. Archival images and documents accompany interviews with Nobel laureate Elie Wiesel, Prof. Alan Dershowitz of Harvard University, Prof. Lawrence H. Schiffman of NYU, Prof. Christine Hayes of Yale, Rabbi Brad Hirschfield of the National Jewish Center for Learning and Leadership, and others. Bonus material (DVD only) features extended interviews not included in the broadcast version. (59 minutes + 45 minutes of bonus material)
The Sephardic Legacy of Segovia, Spain: Pentimento of the Past
Jewish culture has been present in Spain for centuries, but it is not always visible. In the ancient city of Segovia, layers of urban development have largely concealed a rich Sephardic heritage. This program explores that legacy and documents recovery and restoration efforts in Segovia’s Jewish quarter. Combining interviews with scholars, historians, and residents with footage of medieval architectural features, the film vividly illustrates the long-term influence of the city’s age-old Jewish community. Special attention is given to the cultural impact of the Edict of Expulsion in 1492—an event that interrupted but did not erase the Sephardic tradition in Spain. (Portions in Spanish with English subtitles, 33 minutes)
A Yiddish World Remembered
Brimming with firsthand accounts, archival films and photographs, and a powerful current of traditional klezmer and cantorial music, this program examines the Yiddish culture and society that grew out of the Jewish diaspora in Eastern Europe. Viewers are shown glimpses of daily life in the shtetl, a type of village found across the Pale of Settlement—one that may have lacked running water and electricity and suffered from poverty, overcrowding, and anti-Semitism, but one which was also a close-knit and joyous place. The film explores many aspects of that nearly vanished way of life—the fascinating Yiddish language; traditional clothing; education in the cheder, or schoolhouse; the rabbis and rebbes who often led Yiddish communities; and the powerful Jewish movements of Hasidism, Bundism, and Zionism. Contains bonus material not included in the broadcast version. (57 minutes + 21 minutes of bonus material)

In Search of Our FathIn Search of Our Fathers: Finding Your Rootsers: Finding Your Roots
Three guests know almost nothing about their fathers’ past. Stephen King’s father walked out on the family when Stephen was two years old and never returned; Courtney Vance’s father was a foster child and never knew who his biological parents were — after his suicide, Courtney wants to learn more about his roots; and Gloria Reuben’s father was 78 years old when she was born — he died when she was young, taking the secret of his ancestry with him. Henry Louis Gates solves the mystery of their paternal ancestry and introduces them to relatives they never knew they had. Distributed by PBS Distribution. (52:46 min.)
The Long Way Home: Lidia Bastianich, Julianna Margulies, Azar Nafisi—Finding Your Roots, Season 3
Discover how actress Julianna Marguiles, author Azar Nafisi and Chef Lidia Bastianich are bound together by their ancestors’ singular and deeply human desire to preserve their most cherished traditions. Distributed by PBS Distribution. (52.48 min.)
Our People, Our Traditions: Finding Your Roots, Season 2
These three celebrated Americans share not only a Jewish heritage but also a history of perseverance in the face of withering opposition. Tony Kushner delves into the history of the Holocaust to discover his ancestors’ fate; Carole King discovers the origins of her family name and confronts the reality of the discrimination her ancestors faced once they arrived in America; and Alan Dershowitz discovers that the first Hassidic synagogue in Brooklyn, started by his great grandfather, played a secret role in World War II. Now woven into the fabric of the American experience the immigrant stories of our guests’ ancestors provide an extraordinary testimony to this country’s triumph over adversity. Distributed by PBS Distribution. (52:26 min.)
Against All Odds
Henry Louis Gates, Jr. introduces media personality Andy Cohen and radio journalist Nina Totenberg to Jewish ancestors who journeyed from Russia to America determined to overcome enormous odds in the face of oppression. Distributed by PBS Distribution. (52.17 min.)

YouTube Videos

Gideon Levytam introduces the Seven Feasts of the LORD (מֹועֲדֵי יְהוָה) and explains how they portray God's plan for mankind. Watch the Series: - Introduction: https://youtu.be/JFX-fSlVjqM - The Shabbat Day of Rest: https://youtu.be/xHSVA190D7s - The Feast of Passover: https://youtu.be/l7eHcvY8mEY - The Feast of Unleavened Bread: https://youtu.be/Q_9_n3cIFWo - The Feast of First Fruits: https://youtu.be/Kex1yiHO_1M - The Feast of Weeks: https://youtu.be/Mx2WFMw5z4Y - The Present Age of the Assembly: https://youtu.be/cYZAiqQ84-Y - The Feast of Trumpets: https://youtu.be/eOlBZDjqO80 - The Day of Atonement: https://youtu.be/nYsNpFUQM9M - The Feast of Tabernacles: https://youtu.be/QCwZCu4-xTk - Conclusion: https://youtu.be/d6Xrr6IR-rk The Holy Scriptures and Israel was founded for the purpose of sharing God’s word with the Jewish people. You can learn more about our ministry at http://www.holyscripturesandisrael.com. (21:04 min.)

Maybe you've heard of Passover or Yom Kippur, but did you know that there are seven total feasts prescribed in the Bible? These holy days contain precise prophetic details about the first and second coming of Jesus Christ. Spend some time digging deeper into the Jewish roots of our Christian faith with this quick overview of the Biblical feasts and their past and future fulfillment. Visit this link to get our FREE eBook called Awaiting His Return: https://livingstrategically.com/2021/... // LINKS // 💻 Website: https://livingstrategically.com/ 📫 Email: info@livingstrategically.com 📖 Free e-Book: https://livingstrategically.com/2021/... 🎧 Podcast: https://livingstrategically.com/podcast 🎥 YouTube channel: http://youtube.com/livingstrategically (9:00 min.)

1) Judaism 101- Beginning (God,Man,Religion) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n7Pun... 2) Judaism 101-Jewish Literature (Hebrew Bible, Talmud, Midrash) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VIQtS... 3) Judaism 101 - Holidays and Holy Day (Calendar, Sabbath, Festivals, Modern Holidays) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6h3XZ... 4) Judaism 101 - Jewish Observances (Dietary Law, Ritual Purity, Prayer, Ethics, Clothing) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F4XDh... In Hebrew, calendar is called “Ha-Luah ha-Ivri” (הַלּוּחַ הָעִבְרִי)), and is a lunar-solar, predominantly for Jewish religious observances. It determines the dates for Jewish holidays, Bible readings, Torah portions, and for other ceremonial uses. In the land of Israel, the Jewish calendar is used to provide a time frame for agriculture and for civil purposes. The present Jewish calendar is the product of evolution, including a Babylonian influence. The Hebrew lunar year has 354 days instead of 365, making every year shorter than the solar year or Gregorian calendar. Therefore, the Jewish calendar added one month every two or three years to correct for the difference between twelve lunar months and the solar year. The year in which it was added was based on observation of natural agriculture-related events in ancient Israel. This way ensures that Passover remains to be a spring festival, Pentecost a harvest time, and Tabernacles during the fall. (20:43 min.)

Produced in 1987 with Alyson Hannigan, Lou Asner and others by Larry Nimmer. (1:28:50 min.)

Judaism, at 4000 years old it is one of the oldest monotheistic religions. But even though its teachings helped create the world’s two most popular religions many people don’t know what the Jews actually believe. (8:42 min.)

This episode will attempt to clear up surprising misconceptions, stereotypes, and straight-up lies about Judaism and Jewish teachings. (8:18 min.)

I’m looking at 10 ways in which Christianity, Islam, and Judaism are connected. There are many surprising and interesting connections between Islam, Judaism, and Christianity. (5:46 min.)

Weddings are one of the most loving events to go to, within weddings, there are many traditions. These traditions can be within families or religions. In this episode, I'm going to share 10 surprising Jewish wedding traditions... (7:40 min.)

Jewish people have greatly impacted the world that we know today in many ways. From cultural practices, science, politics, media, and finances, Jews have left their mark. So who are some of the Jewish people that have had a significant lasting influence in the world? In this episode, I will be listing the 10 most influential Jewish people or people of Jewish descent and affiliation in history.

Today we present you a list of all the famous celebrities who are surprisingly Jewish. They are Drake Bar Mitzvah, Adam Levine, Gabriel Match, Emmanuel Lubesky, Charlie Puth, Daniel Day Lewis, Timothy Chalamet, Lily Collins, David Beckham, Bruno Mars. Stay tuned to find out more about them. (8;15 min.)

In this video, I’ll be sharing 10 surprising Jewish inventions that have changed the world. Jewish culture has been scrutinized for centuries. But despite everything they have gone through, Jews from all over the world have always proven themselves by working hard. The strength that Jewish people have has resulted in many great innovations. (9:35 min.)

Want to understand why some people say that Jews run Hollywood? When you look into the history of the silver screen you’ll learn that, in fact, many Jews were involved in starting major film studios including MGM, Universal and Paramount. Today these companies are owned by huge and diverse corporations. The history of why Jews were involved in Hollywood’s humble beginnings starts with Vaudeville and the garment industry. (6:17 min.)

Talking about Jewish food is both mouth-wateringly delicious and just a little complicated. While Ashkenazi Jews (Jews from Eastern Europe) are used to foods like gefilte fish and matzah ball soup, these dishes would be foreign to a Jew from The Middle East, North Africa or Ethiopia who would prefer to chow down pkaila, shakshuka, t’bit or doro wat. What connects Jewish foods, apart from being delicious, is that they developed from economic necessity and were often a way for poor communities to create something tasty from very little. While some of these dishes have been forgotten over time, others are enjoying a culinary renaissance and gaining new generations of fans. (7;11 min.)

In the final episode, Maeve O'Meara explores the delicious and complex world of Jewish food - full of age-old traditions and customs. She visits kosher butcher shops and fish shops in Melbourne and Sydney, with food preparation supervised by a rabbi. She samples sweet plaited bread challah and bagels; vibrant borscht (beetroot soup); and cholent - a slow-cooked dish of meat and pulses that is perfect as a Sabbath dish. (24:59 min.)

Week of Kosher Dinners/ Week of Meals/ Orthodox Jewish /Quick Family Dinners/ Dinner Ideas/ Crockpot Chicken/ Taco Station/ Wraps/Fish and Basmati Rice/ Chicken and Rice Bake/ Meatballs with Spaghetti/ What we eat in a week/ Sonyas Prep/Kosher Meal Prep (22:03 min.)

Inspired by a classic New York Jewish deli, The General Muir in Atlanta, Georgia, puts a modern spin on traditional favorites! Watch #DDD, Fridays at 9|8c + subscribe to #discoveryplus to stream the entire library and so much more: http://discoverypl.us/2NeKVgd. Subscribe to Food Network ▶ http://foodtv.com/YouTube (3:52 min.)

We invite you to see How we celebrate Hanukkah in our Orthodox Jewish home | Hanukkah prep & table & donut recipe | frum Come Inside a private hanukkah night celebration in our Orthodox Jewish home| Hanukkah prep & table & donut discover our: hanukkah celebration traditions Hanukkah table hanukkah tablescape hanukkah night hanukkah prayers chanukah prayers or blessings How to make Hanukkah Donuts WE hope you enjoy it will SUBSCRIBE to the channel: https://bit.ly/2OvRJr0 to get more content all about discovering, simplifying and LOVING the Jewish life and follow us on : INSTAGRAM : frumitup https://bit.ly/3uzPlip FACEBOOK: frumit UP. https://www.facebook.com/frumit.up.1 (7:29 min.)

Sukkot Cook and Bake with Me: Prep with Me: Jewish Holiday - Sukkot week long celebrates the miraculous protection God provided when Jews left Egypt and when the traveled for forty years. Live, eat and sleep in a make shift tent. (18:14 min.)

In the Bible, Rosh Hashanah is referred to as Yom Ha-Zikkaron, day of remembrance, or Yom Teruah, day of shofar blowing. Rosh Hashanah, known as the Jewish New Year, begins the Jewish high holidays, a time of reflection, charity, and new beginnings in the Hebrew calendar. Procedure for celebrating Rosh Hashanah (2:15 min.)

The Jewish Holiday of TU B’SHVAT is the Jewish New Year for the trees also known as Arbor Day. It’s very common to eat different varieties of fruits such as dates, figs, pomegranates, olives and grapes. (15:23 min.)

For communities all over the world, keeping Shabbat is one of the most important parts of what it means to be Jewish. With a never-ending cycle of festivals, traditions and practices, why did Shabbat rituals in particular - from hamotzi to havdalah - become such a defining part of what it means to be Jewish? And why have Jews gone to such great lengths to keep these millenia-old practices going, even in times of danger? (4;24 min.)

Every week, from sundown on Friday to sundown on Saturday, the Hasidic people celebrate the Sabbath. In keeping with ancient Jewish traditions, they can't do anything they believe creates work—like drive or talk on the phone—for 24 hours. Aron and Shterna Ginsberg, a Hasidic couple, explain the importance of the Sabbath to Oprah. Then, after Shterna catches Oprah sneaking a peek at her wig, she reveals why Hasidic women cover their hair at all times. (2:31 min.)

Come and discover what happens Inside a Mikvah through this Tour of a Jewish Ritual Bath. I will answer the most common questions like: What is a Mikveh ? Is it Only for Women? What do we do as Orthodox Jewish women to prepare for our Mikveh night and so much more! (15:05 min.)

The word for funeral in Judaism is levaya, which means accompanying. To accompany a person to their final resting place is an act of love and kindness for both the deceased and their family and this video explains a few of the Jewish practices to expect. (2:25 min.)

Ta’amei Hamikra, or as it’s called in Yiddish, “trope,” is a millennia-old system of music symbols that determines how each word in the Torah is recited. Although developed over thousands of years, this system is still used regularly today by Jews in synagogues around the world, as a guide to how to chant the Torah portions recited throughout each week (5:24 min.)

Yahweh, Adonai, LORD, Jehovah... God seems to have a lot of names, what exactly am I supposed to call Him? We invite you into the fascinating journey behind all the different names Jews and Christians have referred to their creator throughout the centuries, and more importantly, why! Check out our second installment in a six-part exploration of the ancient biblical prayer called “The Shema.” (3:59 min.)

The history of the Star of David is more than a little murky. So how did two overlapping triangles become the single most powerful icon of the Jewish people? We unpack the roots of the Magen David as an ancient Kabbalistic amulet tracing its path into the universal symbol of almost all things Jewish and Israeli. (5:54 min.)

The menorah is the seven-branched lampstand of God. It is a symbol of the love of God and His Word, the Bible: consisting of the 22+27=49 (7x7) scrolls with the 39+27=66 (3x22) or 49+21=70 (10x7) single books. More info and links: Structure of the Menorah: https://menorah-bible.jimdofree.com/e... Pictures of ancient Menorahs: https://menorah-bible.jimdofree.com/e... Structure of the Bible: https://menorah-bible.jimdofree.com/e... (5:50 min.)