Easter and Passover: Journals & Magazines

A weekly magazine founded in 1909 by the Jesuits of the United States. Articles, written for both the layperson and the religious professional, examine religious, political, ethical, and social issues from the Jesuit Catholic perspective. Reports on current events of interest and offers reviews of the arts and literature, and commentary on lectionary texts.

The monthly national newspaper of the Anglican Church of Canada, providing news and information articles about the Anglican church in Canada and worldwide.

An ecumenical biweekly magazine that examines developments in the contemporary church and probes the religious and moral issues of modern culture. Publishes articles exploring the public meaning of faith and religious tradition in regard to topics such as poverty, human rights, economic justice, international relations, national priorities and popular culture, as well as discussions of the theology and ethos of individual religious communities.

Provides commentary and news reporting from a Christian perspective. Covers theology, biblical studies, and contemporary politics and social issues.

A monthly magazine that contains church-state news and analysis. Promotes the concept of separation of church and state.

Lifestyle magazine for young working women. Includes general interest features, personality profiles, movie, book, and music reviews, and service editorials on beauty, fashion, home decorating, food, nutrition, diet, health, and fitness.

A respected voice and valued source of news, data, analysis and opinion throughout the industry.

The flagship publication of the National Geographic Society, publishing articles on interesting people, places, customs, activities and nature on a worldwide scale, with an emphasis on human involvement in a changing universe. Chronicles Society expeditions and discoveries. Excellent photography, helpful timelines, and maps accompany most articles.

A journal of news and opinion on national and international issues. Publishes articles, reviews of the arts, and editorials from a conservative standpoint. Numerous political cartoons appear throughout.

A news and opinion journal that offers a right-wing perspective on political science, social opinion, and economic theory issues. Topics addressed include constitutional conservatism, economic libertarianism, and the behind-the-scenes forces shaping American politics and culture. The magazine is published by a subsidiary of the John Birch Society.

Provides international news and commentary on peoples and cultures.

Provides transcripts of the PBS Newshour television show.

This publication includes news, letters, articles, columns, editorials, Sunday school lessons, and ministerial changes confronting the Presbyterian Church.

Devoted to the exploration of the interface between Judaism and science in history.

A scholarly journal covering every aspect of Jewish life in the United States. Feature articles are well-researched but written to be accessible to both academics and general readers. Content includes book reviews and occasional review essays. Some issues are devoted to a single topic. This is the official journal of the American Jewish Historical Society (AJHS).

Publishes scholarship on antisemitism in both past and present manifestations.

Publication covering Judaism and religion in Europe.

Examines issues arising at the crossroads of religion and public life today.

A semiannual journal devoted to multidisciplinary scholarship on Israeli history, politics, society, and culture, with emphasis on the current State of Israel, including the effect of events in the Diaspora communities. Contains articles on topics of broad interest reflecting diverse points of view.

A scholarly journal devoted to contemporary and historical studies of Jewish life from a multidisciplinary perspective. Publishes pertinent work in anthropology, politics, sociology, religion, and literature, as well as case studies and theoretical discussions. Published quarterly for academic audiences.

A refereed, scholarly journal covering the language, literature, culture, and history of the Near East, North Africa, South and Southeast Asia, Inner Asia, the Far East, and the Islamic world. Topics addressed include philosophy, religion, folklore, and art. Although articles may be about any time period, most deal with ancient times. Includes book reviews. This is the official journal of the American Oriental Society (AOS).

An international, interdisciplinary forum for the innovative work being done in Jewish women's and gender studies. It creates communication channels within the Jewish women's and gender studies community, and includes articles on literature, text studies, anthropology, archeology, theology, contemporary thought, sociology, the arts, and more.

Provides a forum for the growing field of Jewish literary studies. Integral to its mission was an attempt to bring together the study of modern Jewish literatures (in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages) with the literary study of the Jewish classical tradition as a whole.

An academic journal offering a collection of analysis and reflection in the fields of international relations, science policy, literary criticism, travel writing, economics, religion, short fiction and poetry. Issues feature editorial, several feature articles, photography, reviews, science and short fiction.

Provides news releases from the European Union office.

A Jewish newspaper for the Greater Boston and Eastern Massachusetts metropolitan area, and for much of New England. Serves as a source of news and information as well as a forum for discussion and debate, providing lines of communication uniting the community and supporting the efforts aimed at reinvigorating and broadening Jewish religious and cultural life.

Provides a mix of politics, political science, sociology and the U.S. government. Coverage includes the latest White House and Congressional developments, together with news of the movers and shakers who forge policy and politics across the country.