Caribbean Studies: World History

The definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail. Primary sources in this title

Examines the causes, course and consequences of warfare in twentieth century Africa, a period which spanned colonial rebellions, both World Wars, and the decolonization process.

The Ardennes Battlefields includes details of what can be seen on the ground today - hardware, memorials, museums, and cemeteries - using a mixture of media to provide an overview of the campaign; maps old and new highlight what has survived and what hasn't; then and now photography allows fascinating comparisons with the images taken at the time; aerial photos give another angle to the story.

Provides a comprehensive study of the literature on the causes, course, and consequences of the Korean War, 1950-1953. Aimed primarily at readers with a special interest in military history and contemporary conflict studies, the authors summarize and analyze the key research issues in what for years was known as the 'Forgotten War.'

From the cunning, calculating, government-trained warriors to the psychopathic, homegrown freelancers, you can find them all in this text.

In this accessible, comprehensive retelling, Carole K. Fink provides new insights and perspectives on key events with an emphasis on people, power, and ideas, along with cultural coverage "from the Beetle to the Beatles." Cold War goes beyond US-USSR relations to explore the Cold War from an international perspective, including key events and developments in Africa, Asia, and Latin America.

This authoritative, well-organized, clearly written volume will prove invaluable for a variety of readers, including high school students, military historians, members of the armed forces, history buffs, and hobbyists, and will be a useful resource for both university and public library reference collections.

Provides crucial and contemporary information about antagonism and reconciliation within both the public and private realms. Addresses topics in the field of violence, peace, and conflict studies, with coverage of issues as disparate as peace education, trends in warfare, mental illness, and violence towards animals. Covers topics of concern to contemporary society, such as ethnic conflict, hate crimes, drug control policies, and child abuse.

From ferocious tribes to charismatic leaders and daring militias, this new edition explores the origins and leadership of these powerful combat forces, chronicles their conquests and accomplishments, examines the circumstances surrounding their decline or disbanding, and assesses their influence on the groups and methods of warfare that followed.

This dictionary gives an enormous amount of basic information on the Third Reich era by listing, and often depicting, German terms connected to Nazism and the Germany of World War II.

Spanning continents and centuries, Protest! presents a major new chronological look at protest graphics.

Covers important battles from the Fall of Jericho (ca. 8000 BCE) - the earliest recorded example of organized warfare - to the wars of the Chalukya Dynasty in the sixth century, which successfully established Chalukya hegemony over about a third of the Indian subcontinent.

Covers wars from the Korean War (1950-1953) to ongoing wars in Syria, the Ukraine, and Libya, among others.

Covers a period dominated by two wars that for the first time in history encompassed nearly every nation in the world, as well as numerous regional and local conflicts that nevertheless caused the death of millions of people.

Based largely upon new research, this book explores the history of repeating and multi-fire weapons, beginning with the Chinese repeating crossbow in the 4th century BCE, and ending with the world's most common firearm, the Kalashnikov AK-47.

Examines the varied and multifaceted scholarship surrounding the topic of peace and engages in a fruitful dialogue about the global history of peace since 1750. Interdisciplinary in nature, the book includes contributions from authors working in fields as diverse as history, philosophy, literature, art, sociology, and Peace Studies.

An indispensable alphabetical, topic-by-topic guide to a fascinating subject. This is a comprehensive work that covers virtually any aspect of sniping.