The Buccaneers of America by 
Caribbean Companion : the A-Z Reference by 
Countries at the Crossroads 2011 by
Countries at the Crossroads: An Analysis of Democratic Governance evaluates government performance in seventy strategically important countries from across the globe, including emerging market countries and at-risk states. The in-depth comparative analyses and quantitative ratings--examining Accountability and Public Voice, Civil Liberties, Rule of Law, and Anticorruption and Transparency--serve as a valuable tool for public analysts, educators and students, government officials, and the business community.
The English in the West Indies : or, The Bow of Ulysses by 
Glencoe World Geography : A Physical and Cultural Approach World Geography. by 
Islands of the Commonweath [sic Commonwealth] Caribbean : a regional study by 
Latin America's Emergence in Global Services by
Business services have been one of the fastest growing export areas in emerging economies over the past decade. The spread of information and communication technologies and the rise in trade liberalization have facilitated the global unbundling and offshoring of services activities from advanced to developing countries, including those in Latin America. The empirical and analytical insights in this volume document how several countries in Latin America have entered the offshore services sector both through the attraction of multinational companies and the internationalization of domestic service suppliers. The future of the offshore services sector in Latin America will depend on its ability to upgrade its knowledge - and skill-intensive product offerings. This will call for the development of domestic technical capabilities, the adoption of renewed industrial policies, the promotion of backward and forward linkages, and the continued upgrading of human capital and information technology-integrated manufacturing.
Old Panama and Castilla del Oro: a narrative history of the discovery, conquest, and settlement by the Spaniards of Panama, Darien, Veragua, Santo Domingo, Santa Marta, Cartagena, Nicaragua, and Peru: including the four voyages of Columbus to America, the by 
Canary Islands by
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Canary Islands shows the Canary Islands at their sun-soaked best. From sandy beaches to craggy peaks, this uniquely visual guide provides cutaways and floor plans of all of the major sights. Special coverage of the islands' unique geography and the wildlife of the archipelago includes its volcanic rock formations and geysers, diverse flora, and marine life. No trip to the Canary Islands would be complete without joining revelers at one of its glorious carnivals; and with sights, beaches, markets and festivals listed town by town, you won't miss a thing. With a reliable selection of hotels, bars, and restaurants, and full-color, detailed maps of all the towns and regions, this is the perfect guide to help you experience the best of the islands. Additionally, this expanded DK Eyewitness Travel Guide brings to life the islands' culture and history, explaining the legends of the islands, revealing tales of Spanish, Portuguese, and Catalan conquests, and the story that the islands were once believed to be the lost land of Atlantis. DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Canary Islands — showing you what others only tell you.
Ethnic Toronto by
Toronto is one of the most multicultural cities in the world and this guidebook takes you through the different cuisines, shops, religions, churches, associations, nightclubs, festivals and parades in a way no other guide can.
Frommer's Portable Cayman Islands by
Frommer's Portable Guides are for the short-term traveler who insists on value and doesn't want to pack a full-size guidebook. The Portables have the same commitment to accuracy and detail as the Frommer's Complete Guides, with the same broad demographic appeal, from budget to deluxe. Frommer's Portable Cayman Islands includes complete information for all three of the Cayman Islands- Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac, and Little Cayman- in one easy-to-carry guide. We currently publish a complete guide to Frommer's Caribbean that includes coverage of the Caymans. This new portable guide will be geared toward travelers visiting only islands in the Caymans and will feature more detailed information on the islands than is found in Frommer's Caribbean.
Moon Aruba by
Make your Escape with Moon Aruba! With its intense blue sea and some of the most stunning beaches in the Caribbean, Aruba is nearly heaven. Find your version of paradise withMoon Aruba. What You'll Find inMoon Aruba: Curated advice from local author Rosalie Klein, who shares her adventurous expertise and love of her adopted country Full-color, vibrant, helpful photos Detailed directions and mapsfor exploring on your own In-depth coverage of Oranjestad, Eagle Beach and Manchebo Beach, Palm Beach, Malmok, and Noord, North Coast, San Nicolas, Savaneta, and Pos Chiquito Activities and ideas for every traveler: Go off-roading through the outback, or go snorkeling through the calm turquoise waters. See incredible geological formations and native birds with startlingly bright plumage at Arikok National Park, or experience the festivities of Carnival with the locals. Try local favorites like keshi yena (filled cheese) or cabrito stoba (stewed goat), or taste the freshest ceviche while dining beachfront. Strategic itineraries in an easy-to-navigate format, such as The Best of Aruba, Best Beaches, Explore the Outback, and Best Bets for the Budget-Conscious Current background information on the landscape, culture, history, and environment Essential insightfor travelers on health and safety, recreation, transportation, and accommodations from resorts to beachy bungalows, packaged in a book light enough to fit in your beach bag WithMoon Aruba's practical tips, myriad activities, and an insider's view on the best things to do and see, you can plan your trip your way. Looking for more fun in the Caribbean sun? Check outMoon Jamaica orMoon Dominican Republic.
Our Caribbean Gems : --the U.S. Virgin Islands by 
The Rough Guide Directions St Lucia by
Slim, stylish and pocketable, Rough Guides Directions St Luciahas all you need to get the most out of your trip to the island. Pirate hangouts, glorious beaches and lush rainforests are all covered in detail, as are the bustling Castries and the many nature reserves. The guide's hand-picked accommodation and eating recommendations cover all the main resorts and inland villages, revealing plenty of hidden gems, all indicated on a series of useful maps. With a full-colour section packed with suggestions for things to do and see, from spectacular snorkelling to local festivals, you'll never be stuck for ideas.
Tropical Family Vacations by
Whether it's snorkeling through crystal-clear Caribbean waters, learning to surf at balmy Waikiki Beach, swimming with dolphins in Florida, or exploring Mayan ruins near the beaches of Cancun, an idyllic family trip is easy to plan with Tropical Family Vacations. Jam-packed with vacations for every family's taste in budget, this guide helps you find the best place for your family in the sun.To provide guidance in designing the perfect trip, Laura Sutherland, an experienced family travel writer, brings you Tropical Family Vacations. This information-packed guidebook includes: Coverage of South Florida, the Caribbean, Mexico and HawaiiExpert advice on the best places to stay--from glamorous resorts and spaccious condominiums to quiet cottages, beachfront campgrounds, and budget hotels.Activities for all ages, including submarine rides, volcano hikes, sand dune sliding, sailing, sea kayaking, and snorkeling tours.The scoop on resort kids' programs, from tots to teensTips on trip planning and keeping family adventures hassle-free Tropical family Vacations will prove to be an invaluable resources for parents who want a relaxing, carefree vacation and lifetime of memories for their families.
The Caribbean, Central & South American Cookbook : Tropical Cuisines Steeped in History : All the Ingredients and Techniques and 150 Ssensational Step-by-Step Recipes by 
Dutch Cooking by 
International Cuisine by
International Cuisine is the only available book that covers all of the major cuisines of the world in a single textbook with additional instructor resources to aid in instruction, such as comprehensive instructor�s manual, online companion, and robust electronic classroom manager, which includes PowerPoint slides, lesson plans, and a computerized testbank. Written for students and professional culinarians, this book fills the gap between the foundations laid by the introductory textbooks and reality in today�s diverse kitchens. Included are sections on the influences that have contributed to the development of each cuisine, foreign culinary terms commonly used, and sub regions found within the cuisines. The chapters are clearly organized providing detailed information about cuisines in an easy to follow manner. International Cuisine provides comprehensive coverage exposing students to major cuisines around the world.
Miami Spice by
The new star of the culinary galaxy is South Florida, declares The New York Times. And no wonder. Out of America's tropical melting pot comes an inventive cuisine bursting with flavor--and now Steven Raichlen, an award-winning food writer, shares the best of it in Miami Spice. With 200 recipes and firsthand reports from around the state, Miami Spice captures the irresistible convergence of Latin, Caribbean, and Cuban influences with Florida's cornucopia of stone crabs, snapper, plantains, star fruit, and other exotic native ingredients (most of which can be found today in supermarkets around the country). Main selection of the Book-of-the-Month Club's HomeStyle Books. Winner of a 1993 IACP/Julia Child Cookbook Award.
The Spices of Life by
Love potions, cures for toothache or flatulence, tasty flavoring - spices have been a pungent presence down the ages. Long before Peter Piper picked his peck of pickled pepper, the Queen of Sheba sent spices to King Solomon and Emperor Nero burned Rome's annual supply of cinnamon at his wife's funeral. It's hard to imagine how these berries, seeds and barks once unleashed ferocious passion in European adventurers who fought tooth and claw to control the spice trade, causing chaos in the lives of people in the South. Spices still fascinate us... the way a pinch of chili powder zips a sober bean casserole into a hot experience-or how the scent of cinnamon wafting from a bakery triggers the appetite. The Spices of Life brings over 100 delicious recipes from Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Middle East using favorite spices like cloves, nutmeg, chilies, and pepper, as well as some less familiar ones. It comes complete with a Spice Guide to introduce the flavorings and give advice on how to use them. With some of the brightest foods from around the world, The Spices of Life is a great way to pep up your cooking. Over 100 easy-to-follow recipes from around the world A brief note on foods, cultures or countries with each recipe Illustrated spice guide Food facts Full-color photographs History of spices Glossary of foods Clear step-by-step cooking method Recipes fully adapted for you to cook at home Vegetarian section as well as meat and fish
Explorers and settlers; historic places commemorating the early exploration and settlement of the United States by
Describes our rich European heritage and diverse cultures of various settlers.
Forerunners and Competitors of the Pilgrims and Puritans : or, Narratives of Voyages made by persons other than the Pilgrims and Puritans of the Bay colony to the shores of New England during the first quarter of the seventeenth century, 1601-1625, with e by 
The Francis Parkman Reader by
Francis Parkman (1823-1893), struggling against painful chronic illnesses and very largely self-taught in his field, was not only a pioneering historian but an enduring one. His monumental seven-volume history of discovery, conquest, and empire-building in the New World, France and England in North America (the final volume, Montcalm and Wolfe, is available in its entirety from Da Capo Press/ Perseus Books Group), remains unrivaled for its power, depth, scope, accuracy, and literary artistry. This reader, superbly edited by Samuel Eliot Morison, the Pulitzer Prize-winning historian in the Parkman tradition, comprises approximately one-seventh of the original. Rather than stitch together a patchwork of brief, disconnected extracts, Morison has chosen whole chapters or groups of chapters, thereby allowing the reader to follow a story from start to finish, and what stories they are: Champlain's efforts to establish a French empire in the vast forest wilderness; the torture and martyrdom of Father Jogues; La Salle's western expeditions and his murder by mutineers; the bloody Deerfield Massacre; the improbable, madcap, and successful siege of Louisbourg; the swift, dramatic battle on Quebec's Plains of Abraham, in which the fate of a continent was decided; and much more. The result is both an enthralling portrait of early North American colonial history and an unsurpassed introduction to the works of Francis Parkman.
Out of Many by
Out of Many tells the story of the distinctly American character, built upon the ideal of local and cultural diversity. Carefully considering the complex social, political, and historical interactions that shape America's history, the narrative unfolds around one promise--to celebrate the differences that will always define America. Still acclaimed for its scholarship, the Fifth Edition adds deep discussion, striking photos, and demonstrative features designed to portray the rich cultural and ethnic diversity that characterizes the United States' heritage.
The remarkable history of the Hudson's bay company : including that of the French traders of north-western Canada and of the North-west, XY, and Astor fur companies, by 
Spanish Explorers in the Southern United States, 1528-1543 : the narrative of Alvar Nuñez Cabeça de Vaca by 
Structures of Everyday Life by 
