Dreeben-Irimia's Introduction to Physical Therapist Practice for Physical Therapist Assistants by
The Third Edition of this best-selling text, written text specifically for PTAs, will help instructors introduce students to information regarding professionalism, professional roles, interpersonal communication, physical therapist's behavior and conduct, teaching and learning, and evidence based practice. This comprehensive text will provide a valuable resource throughout the physical therapist assistant's education and training throughout the entire duration of the PTA program.
Dreeben-Irimia's Introduction to Physical Therapy Practice for Physical Therapist Assistants by 
Fundamentals of Tests and Measures for the Physical Therapist Assistant by
Fundamentals of Tests and Measures for the Physical Therapist Assistant provides students with the tools required to interpret the physical therapy evaluation and replicate the measurements and tests. This text guides students in learning how to utilize case information and documentation furnished by the PT to assist in the follow-up treatment.Key Features Include:- Relevant anatomy and terminology review- Comprehensive coverage of tests and measures arranged by system- Pertinent documentation examples- Excellent photographs and graphics- Easy-to-understand descriptions and explanations
Physical Agents by
Written specifically for PTAs! Develop the clinical decision-making skills you need to be a successful PTA. This easy-to-follow approach helps you learn how to successfully relate thermal, mechanical, and electrical modalities with specific therapeutic goals while understanding all of the physiologic ramifications. Drawing from the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice, this text will enable you to make the connection between a modality and the appropriate treatment interventions as part of a comprehensive, successful physical therapy treatment program. Explore MORE online at DavisPlus! The Plus Code, inside new, printed texts, unlocks your Davis Digital Version, your complete text online.
Physical Therapy Ethics by
Take an engaging approach to real-world problems with the only book of its kind written for physical therapists. This groundbreaking text breaks new ground again. It's now three books in one...a comprehensive exploration of ethics as well as of professionalism and cultural diversity. The thoroughly revised, updated, and expanded 2nd Edition offers physical therapists the tools they need as they confront the ethical dilemmas and moral controversies that they will encounter in professional practice. At the same time, it stimulates reflection on the moral significance of a therapist's work, a neglected area of study. Stories drawn from real-life cases identify and define a broad range of ethical problems, and show readers how to resolve them. An emphasis on day-to-day issues makes ethical and philosophical concepts easy to understand. Each chapter begins with selected principles from the APTA's Code of Ethics and Guide for Professional Conduct. New cases studies, new illustrations, and expanded discussions of ethical issues make the 2nd Edition even more essential.
Pierson and Fairchild's Principles and Techniques of Patient Care by
Master the basics of rehab patient care with Pierson and Fairchild's Principles & Techniques of Patient Care, 6th Edition. This proven text not only provides clear "how-to" information on everything from positioning and draping to patient transfers and ambulation activities, but it also includes easy-to-understand rationales explaining the "why" behind these proven techniques. This new edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect the most current accepted patient care standards, principles, and techniques. Plus, additional video clips and expanded learning resources will help ensure you have a solid mastery of patient care in the rehabilitation setting. Content based on the World Health Organization's ICF model (International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health) - the model currently endorsed by the APTA and AOTA - ensures you are referencing information that stems from the most current theories and practice guidelines of physical and occupational therapy. Procedures boxes with clear written instructions are accompanied by full-color illustrations on performing a variety of proven techniques and patient care tasks such as proper lifting techniques, patient transfers, basic wound care, and assessment of vital signs. Insights into the rationales and physiological principles explain why specific techniques and procedures are used. More than 800 full color photographs clearly demonstrate proper performance of techniques and procedures used in the assessment and management of patients in the rehabilitation setting. Guidelines, principles, and precautions boxes throughout the text offer additional tips for optimal assessment and management of patients in the rehabilitation setting. Self-study and problem solving (case study) activities conclude each chapter to help you understand important concepts and improve your decision-making and problem solving skills. Video clips on companion Evolve website demonstrate the techniques and procedures described in the text. Content on professionalism and the concept of professional values and ethics reinforce existing workplace guidelines and how to apply those guidelines to your patient interactions. Online user resources on the companion Evolve website feature video clips and additional activities for you to hone your skills. (What additional activities?) NEW! Procedures index lists all of the procedures covered in the text to help you quickly locate procedure descriptions while working in the clinical setting. NEW! Additional video clips demonstrate patient transfers, ambulation with aids, donning and doffing PPE, and maneuvering a wheelchair. NEW! Video clip table of contents lists over 30 video clips in the front matter of the text.
Clinical Calculations by
This popular resource is still the only text to review all four major drug calculation methods: basic formula, ratio and proportion, fractional equation, and dimensional analysis. Practice problems help readers master each method so they can apply them effectively in practice. Completely updated throughout, this fourth edition provides the latest information on dosage calculations as well as the most current drug dosages.
Guide to Clinical Documentation by
Develop the skills you need to effectively and efficiently document patient care for children and adults in clinical and hospital settings. This handy guide uses sample notes, writing exercises, and EMR activities to make each concept crystal clear, including how to document history and physical exams and write SOAP notes and prescriptions. This edition has been completely revised and upgraded with more in-depth coverage of documentation and its ramifications, more documentation samples to analyze and emulate, and even more learning tools.
Physical Therapy Clinical Handbook for Ptas by
Physical Therapy Clinical Handbook for PTAs, Third Edition is a concise clinical guide designed specifically to help physical therapist assistant students and practitioners easily obtain helpful evidence-based information. This succinct handbook covers the evaluative as well as the interventional aspect of physical therapy and offers immediate guidance concerning physical therapy data collection and interventions, including musculoskeletal, neurologic, cardiopulmonary, integumentary, geriatric, pediatric, and acute care interventions. This Third Edition reflects updates featured in the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice 3.0, as well as contemporary documentation requirements and best practices. With its user-friendly format that includes tabbed sections for easy referencing and the inclusion of clinical pearls for the PTA, this handbook is a valuable resource for PTA practitioners and students alike. KEY UPDATES:* Features new, easy-to-reference medication tables for interventions covered in the text* Includes extensively revised integumentary content, with illustrations of cancerous skin lesions and vascular ulcerations as well as coverage of dressing choices for wound care management* Addresses Electronic Medical Records as part of clinical documentation coverage, along with ICF terminology and the APTA's defensible documentation guidelines * Provides a range of additional content in covering geriatric interventions, including general considerations for common geriatric-related conditions, an explanation of Medicare Parts C and D, and levels of supervision for the PTA with the Medicare patient* Features an expanded section on domestic violence and elder abuse in relation to its discussion of safety in the clinical environment* Incorporates a prosthetic wear-time schedule* Includes kyphoplasty considerations in detailing spinal surgery procedures and precautions Applicable Courses:* Clinical Practicum* Clinical Education* Clinical Experience
Recognizing and Reporting Red Flags for the Physical Therapist Assistant by
Recognizing and Reporting Red Flags for the Physical Therapist Assistant will help you develop skills to recognize signs and symptoms that can compromise patient care, It is the first text to present a consistent, three-step model for monitoring patients for red flags relating to neuromuscular and musculoskeletal problems, medical diseases, side effects of medications, and other co-morbidities that may be unknown to the PT. Combining the insights of physical therapist Catherine Cavallaro Goodman and physical therapist assistant Charlene Marshall, this resource is unmatched in providing clear guidelines for finding and documenting red flags. Coverage of warning flags includes red and yellow flags, risk factors, clinical presentation, signs and symptoms, helpful screening clues, and guidelines for communicating with the PT, allowing you as the PTA to quickly recognize the need for any re-evaluation of the patient. Three-step approach to formative assessments of physical therapy patients provides a consistent way to watch for and report on adverse changes such as range of motion, strength, pain, balance, coordination, swelling, endurance, or gait deviations. PTA Action Plans show the clinical application of text material relating to observing, documenting, and reporting red (or yellow) flags to the physical therapist. Clinically relevant information includes the tools that you need to monitor the patient's response to selected interventions, and accurately and quickly report changes to the supervising PT. Picture the Patient sections address what to look for when assessing or working with patients, especially typical red flag signs and symptoms of emerging problems. Case examples and critical thinking activities connect theory to practice, showing the role of the PTA and how the PTA can integrate clinical observations with clinical reasoning skills so that they can. Cognitive processing-reasoning approach encourages you to learn to gather and analyze data, pose and solve problems, infer, hypothesize, and make clinical judgments, so that you can notify the supervising PT of clients who need further evaluation or may require a referral or consultation with other health care professionals. Summary boxes and tables highlight key information for quick reference. Key terminology is listed in each chapter, which each term bolded within the chapter and defined in a back-of-book glossary. Full-color illustrations and design clearly demonstrate pathologies and processes and make lookup easier in busy clinical settings. An Evolve companion website enhances your problem-solving and decision-making skills with additional case studies, problem-solving questions, and activities, as well as screening tools and checklists. Combined authorship by a physical therapist and physical therapist assistant provides an authoritative and unique voice in the PTA field.
Occupation Analysis in Practice by
Occupation Analysis in Practice is the essential book for all future and current occupational therapists. It offers a practical approach to the analysis of occupations in real world practice. The book frames occupation as the key component for analysis and builds upon previous work limited to analysis at the activity level. It examines the interests, goals, abilities and contexts of individuals, groups, institutions and communities, along with the demands of the occupation. It presents examples of occupation analysis in different practice context including working with children, health promotion, indigenous health, medico-legal practice; mental health and occupational rehabilitation. The book has four sections. Section 1 introduces theoretical perspectives of the concept of occupation analysis and how such analysis relates to particular models of Occupational Therapy practice and the generic World Health Organisation International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health. Section 2 discusses analysis of particular components of occupation that support practice. These include culture, spirituality, home and community environments as well as self-care and leisure. Section 3 applies analysis of occupations to particular specialties encountered in practice. Section 4 considers the application of Occupation Analysis within professional reasoning and goal setting. FEATURES International team of contributors Examples of occupation analysis proforma Application to a wide range of practice areas. Glossary of key terms Incudes the International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health.
Physical Rehabilitation by
Rely on this comprehensive, curriculum-spanning text and reference now and throughout your career! It focuses on the rehabilitation management of adult patients, integrating basic surgical, medical, and therapeutic interventions to explain how to select the most appropriate evaluation procedures, to develop rehabilitation goals, and to implement a treatment plan. The 6th Edition has been completely revised and updated to reflect the art and science of rehabilitation practice today. Now in full-color, you'll find a new streamlined, easy-to-reference design with even more photographs, illustrations and tables. Redeem the Plus Code inside to unlock your DavisPlus student resources. Over 90 minutes of narrated, full-color video clips show actual clinicians treating actual patients. You'll see the initial examination, interventions, and outcomes for a variety of conditions commonly seen in rehabilitation settings. Online Review Questions for every chapter so you can test yourself on what you've read.
Therapy Outcome Measures for Rehabilitation Professionals by
Previously published as two separate books for Speech and Language Therapists and for Physiotherapists, Occupational Therapists and Rehabilitation Nursing, this book has now been updated and expanded and combines the two first editions into one. This fits in with the increased amount of team working in rehabilitation, both in hospital and community settings. The book assists with the practical implementation of gathering outcome data on patient/clients receiving treatment. Over the last decade there has been a growing awareness of the importance of being able to gather information that could assist in identifying specific gains related to treatment programmes. This should not only help to identify areas for resource change, but also enable health care professionals to monitor the effectiveness of their treatments with individual clients.
Human Diseases and Conditions
Pathology for the Physical Therapist Assistant by 
Pathophysiology by 
Understanding Pathophysiology by 
Applied Anatomy and Physiology for Manual Therapists by
Applied Anatomy and Physiology for Manual Therapists is a clear, accurate, simple, and comprehensive A&P textbook that addresses the needs of students in manual therapy education programs. It is a focused text that deliberately emphasizes the information manual therapists need to be familiar with in order to understand the benefits, effects, indications, and contraindications of their specific form of manual therapy. The text includes detailed information not covered in standard A&P texts, adding an entire chapter on neuromuscular and myofascial connections (Chapter 8), and separating the structure and function of the lymphatic system (Chapter 11) from immunity and healing (Chapter 12). This, along with chapter features such as Manual Therapy Applications, Pathology Alerts, and What Do You Think questions, help readers build bridges between the scientific facts and the application of that information to their therapeutic practice.
Clinical Kinesiology and Anatomy by
Clinical Kinesiology and Anatomy and KinesiologyinAction.com work together to create an immersive, multimedia experience that tracks your progress until you've mastered the must-know concepts and techniques and are ready to apply them in class, clinic, and practice. You'll develop the foundational knowledge, critical-thinking skills, and technical competencies you need to understand kinesiology. KINESIOLOGY IN ACTION - KinesiologyInAction.com Online. Self-Paced. Easy to Navigate. Progressive. Ten online learning modules with a wealth of activities guide you step by step through the basic theory of joint structure and muscle action to ensure you understand both normal and pathologic movement. A special code in the front of the book unlocks Kinesiology in Action for you...including an eBook of the text. TEXT - Clinical Kinesiology and Anatomy Terms, principles, and applications. Clear and simple. The 6th Edition of this classic kinesiology text continues the tradition of presenting a very complicated topic in a clear, simple, and easy-to-understand manner. Bite-size sections and over 500 full-color illustrations show how various anatomical systems are connected and help you identify and see the connections between common pathologies associated with certain anatomical structures.
Musculoskeletal Assessment by
Completely revised and updated, the Third Edition offers a student-friendly approach to muscle assessment, presenting the principles and methodology of assessing both joint range of motion (ROM)/goniometry and manual muscle strength for the head, neck, trunk, and extremities. Each chapter is devoted to a separate anatomical region and provides knowledge of pertinent surface anatomy and deep anatomy. Excellent photography and illustrations enhance comprehension of techniques and serve as a self-learning tool.
Wholistic Dimensions in Healing by 
Geriatric Physical Therapy by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The definitive case-based guide to effectively managing geriatric disorders Geriatric Physical Therapy provides the most authoritative overview available on managing the special needs of the elderly in all health care settings. Through nearly 200 cases, the text offers a skill-building balance of theory and clinical application of knowledge in caring for the older adult population. This timely book addresses and incorporates aspects of prevention, fitness, and wellness into the rehabilitative model of care for elders with and without pathological conditions. Features: Nearly 200 cases examine both acute and chronic stage settings, and provides suggested tests and measures Cases focus on orthopedics and neurology for consistency with board exams, which concentrate in these therapeutic areas Tables and boxes organize and summarize important information and highlight key points for quick reference A well-referenced and scientific approach provides the depth to understand integral processes and procedures
Pediatrics for the Physical Therapist Assistant by
No other textbook gives physical therapy assistants complete, focused insight into their role in treating and managing common pediatric conditions. You'll find coverage of topics ranging from neurological rehabilitation to sports injuries and congenital disorders, as well as in-depth discussions of atypical development and pathologies. Each chapter follows a consistent, well-organized approach that defines each disorder, describes the appropriate physical therapy assessment and intervention, and rounds out the discussion with relevant case study examples based on established practice patterns. Chapters follow a consistent organization, first defining a disorder and then describing the appropriate physical therapy assessment and intervention. Case studies provide examples of physical therapy applications to help you connect theory and practice and build strong clinical reasoning skills. Special boxes highlight Clinical Signs, Interventions, and Case Studies to alert you to important information within the text. Practice patterns and case studies are formatted according to the Guide to Physical Therapy Practice to familiarize you with standardized terminology used in practice. Evolve® resources for students provide additional online activities for learning and self-evaluation.
PTAEXAM : The Complete Study Guide by 
Credo Reference helps you start your medical research with books of specialized terminology, references on anatomy and physiology, and works on medical practice.