LibGuides: Sal MOABC-5 Computerized Medical Office: Web Resources

Professional Associations

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) AHRQ's digital healthcare initiative is part of the Nation's strategy to put information technology to work in healthcare. By making health information available electronically when and where it is needed, digital healthcare can improve the quality of care, even as it makes health care more cost-effective. AHRQ’s Digital Healthcare Research Program’s mission is to produce and disseminate evidence about how the evolving digital healthcare ecosystem can best advance the quality, safety, and effectiveness of healthcare for patients and their families. To fulfill its mission, AHRQ’s Digital Healthcare Research Program has invested in research grants and contracts awarded to over 289 distinct institutions in 48 States, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico.
AMBA-American Medical BiIling Association We are a professional association for medical billers and coders. We offer medical billing and/or medical coding certification, online courses, free CEUs, monthly newsletter and other educational resources. Let us help you be your personal best!
American Academy of Professional Coders (AAPC) AAPC is the world's largest training and credentialing organization for the business of healthcare, with members worldwide working in medical coding, billing, auditing, compliance, clinical documentation improvement, revenue cycle management, and practice management.
American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) The American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) is the leading voice and authority in health information, wherever it is found. Our people work at the intersection of healthcare, technology, and business.
American Hospital Association (AHA): Issues Covers Health Information Technology, HIPAA, Medicare, Medicaid and other issues
American Medical Association (AMA): CPT Information on Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) with link to coding, billing, and insurance.
Board of Medical Specialty Coding & Compliance Earn your CertificationThe Board of Medical Specialty Coding and Compliance is the provider of specialty medical coding certification, education and training for medical coders, clinicians and compliance professionals. BMSC is dedicated to creating and advocating a career ladder for medical professionals through multiple layers of coding and compliance education. Decision Health allows recertification for current specialty medical certification holders.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
As the United States' health protection agency, CDC saves lives and protects people from health threats. To accomplish this mission, CDC conducts critical science and provides health information that protects the U.S. against expensive and dangerous health threats, and responds when these arise.
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services CMS The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, CMS, is part of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).
Healthcare Information Management and Systems Society (HIMSS) Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society, Inc. (HIMSS) is a global advisor and thought leader supporting the transformation of the health ecosystem through information and technology. As a mission-driven non-profit, HIMSS offers a unique depth and breadth of expertise in health innovation, public policy, workforce development, research and analytics to advise global leaders, stakeholders and influencers on best practices in health information and technology. Through our innovation engine, HIMSS delivers key insights, education and engaging events to healthcare providers, governments and market suppliers, ensuring they have the right information at the point of decision.
Health Information Technology Standards Panel (HITSP) HITSP is a cooperative partnership between the public and private sectors to identify standards to enable and support widespread interoperability among healthcare software applications.
MAB-Medical Association of Billers
Practice Management Institute Practice Management Institute® (PMI) trains and certifies administrative professionals working in medical offices: medical office managers and staff working in coding, billing, auditing, and compliance. New and experienced professionals learn current guidelines and best practices to perform more effectively in their role. Providers and consultants involved in the business side of outpatient services also attend to understand the practical application of medical office administration guidelines. The PMI curriculum includes five opportunities for medical office professionals to earn certification in their area(s) of expertise: Certified Medical Coder (CMC)®, Certified Medical Insurance Specialist (CMIS)®, Certified Medical Office Manager (CMOM)®, Certified Medical Compliance Officer (CMCO)®, and Certified Medical Chart Auditor E/M (CMCA-E/M). PMI has been a trusted resource for medical office teams since 1983. Live classes and online learning options are available year-round, taught by instructors with direct experience in health care administration. These knowledgeable, approachable professionals have a natural talent for conveying complex information in a down-to-earth way for better learning retention. Course materials are updated regularly to follow current legal requirements and government guidelines. This pledge of excellence carries through all PMI programming.
Professional Association of Healthcare Coding Specialists

HCPCS Coding

HCPCS Information - Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services CMS.gov provides general information on HCPCS: including news, regulatory decisions, coding and process criteria, coding questions on use, and more.
HCPCS Codes - Medical Billing & Coding MB&C teaches you with video and text how HCPCS codes interact with CPT and ICD-10 codes, and Medicare and Medicaid.
HCPCS Codes Level II - AMA The AMA provides a site to lookup HCPCS codes and coding procedures.
HCPCS Coding System Sections - American Urological Association

Recommended Websites

AAPC: Medical Coding Links Links, guides and information related to coding, billing, audit and physician groups.
Alpha-Numeric HCPCS These files contain Level II alphanumeric HCPCS procedure and modifier codes, their long and short descriptions, and applicable Medicare administrative, coverage and pricing data.
AMA: Errata and Technical Corrections The Errata and Technical Corrections links listed include corrections and other information related to the CPT Code Books Published by the American Medical Association.
Classification of Diseases, Functioning, and Disability There are two related classifications of diseases with similar titles, and a third classification on functioning and disability. The International Classification of Diseases (ICD) is the classification used to code and classify mortality data from death certificates. The International Classification of Diseases, Clinical Modification is used to code and classify morbidity data from the inpatient and outpatient records, physician offices, and most National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) surveys.
Health Insurance Definitions A glossary of terms related to health insurance.
HealthIT.gov The Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC) is at the forefront of the administration’s health IT efforts and is a resource to the entire health system to support the adoption of health information technology and the promotion of nationwide health information exchange to improve health care. ONC is organizationally located within the Office of the Secretary for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).
ICD Interactive Self-Learning Tool Training tutorials for self-learning or classroom use by the WHO
JustCoding.com JustCoding is the continuing education website for coding professionals. Whether you're an inpatient or outpatient coder, a veteran or new to the job, JustCoding will keep your skills sharp, test your coding knowledge, and help you stay abreast of CMS changes.
PDR- Physician's Desk Reference The Physicians' Desk Reference® suite of services provides healthcare professionals multichannel access to important drug information: the PDR®, the most recognized drug information reference available in the U.S.; interactive drug information services for EHR/EMR systems; digital communication services; PDR.net®; and mobilePDR®.
RxList Information provided for each drug includes the description, clinical pharmacology, indications and dosage, side effects and drug interactions, warnings and precautions, drug overdosage contraindications, and patient information. Words in the articles and descriptions that may need to be defined for the layperson or student are hyperlinked to Taber's online medical dictionary.
CMA Exam Learn about the CMA (AAMA) Exam for medical assisting certification and recertification, including eligibility, applying for the exam, and study resources.

ICD-10

ICD-10 refers to the tenth edition of the International Classification of Diseases.

The ICD-10 codes allow for detailed classifications of patients’ conditions, injuries, and diseases. Medical coders are now equipped to capture anatomic sites, etiologies, comorbidities and complications, as well as severity of illnesses.

ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS came into effect for medical claims reporting in 2015, but the two code sets primary distinctions are:

ICD-10-CM diagnosis code set used for all healthcare settings
ICD-10-PCS procedure code set used only in hospital inpatient settings

Resources

AHA Central Office The American Hospital Association's Central Office serves as the official U.S. Clearinghouse on medical coding for the proper use of ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS (formerly ICD-9-CM) coding systems and Level I HCPCS (CPT-4 codes) for hospital providers and certain Level II HCPCS codes for hospitals, physicians and other health professionals.
Find-a-Code ICD-9 and 10 codes, CPT Codes, HCPCS Codes, Medical Billing and Coding
ICD10Data ICD10Data.com is a free reference website designed for the fast lookup of all current American ICD-10-CM (diagnosis) and ICD-10-PCS (procedure) medical billing codes. The 2021 ICD-10-CM/PCS code sets are now fully loaded on ICD10Data.com. 2021 codes became effective on October 1, 2020, therefore all claims with a date of service on or after this date should use 2021 codes.
ICD-10- International Statistical Classification of Disease and Related Health Problems Browse the classification of diseases and health problems.

ICD-11

International Classification of Diseases 11th Revision

State, Federal & International Resources

Califiornia Department of Public Health The California Department of Public Health (CDPH) works to protect the public's health in the Golden State and helps shape positive health outcomes for individuals, families and communities. The Department's programs and services, implemented in collaboration with local health departments and state, federal and private partners, touch the lives of every Californian and visitor to the state 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Health Finder Healthy People provides science-based, national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.
Healthy People Healthy People provides science-based, national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.
HHS: Health Information Privacy U.S. Department of Health & Human Services information on Health Information Privacy
HIPAA Guidelines HIPAA guidance materials from the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion ODPHP leads disease prevention and health promotion efforts in the United States.
Oregon Public Health Division The Oregon Health Authority is at the forefront of lowering and containing costs, improving quality and increasing access to health care in order to improve the lifelong health of Oregonians. OHA is overseen by the nine-member citizen Oregon Health Policy Board working towards comprehensive health reform in our state.
World Health Organization WHO International organization that works with governments and other partners to help combat diseases and keep people healthy. Website provides information on various health topics, resources, and news.

Gale Directory Library

Gale Directory Library
Gale is the trusted source for authoritative directories on companies, publishers, associations and more. These directories are now available online in the Gale Directory Library. This online resource takes these references off the shelf and makes them available at the click of a mouse 24/7.

Sal MOABC-5 Computerized Medical Office: Web Resources

Career Resources