According to the World Health Organization, the ICD is important because it provides a common language for reporting and monitoring diseases. This allows the world to compare and share data in a consistent and standard way – between hospitals, regions and countries and over periods of time. It facilitates the collection and storage of data for analysis and evidence-based decision-making.
ICD-10: a Comprehensive Guide : Education, Planning and Implementation with Premium Website Printed Access Card and Cengage EncoderPro. com Demo Printed Access Card by
ICD-10: A COMPREHENSIVE GUIDE fully prepares current and future medical coders for the transition to ICD-10-CM and PCS coding systems that will go into effect on October 1, 2013. This comprehensive guide covers both ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS coding, highlighting changes in terminology, functionality, guidelines, and conventions. Whether you need to understand and review the impact the transition will have on the industry, or if you need to learn to assign ICD-10 codes accurately, ICD-10: A Comprehensive Guide will prepare you for the road ahead.
Medical Coding: Understanding ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS by 
Medical Coding Fundamentals by 
Medical Office Coding by
This book offers integrated coverage of procedural (ICD-9) and CPT codes (diagnosis) and hands-on practice coding real operative reports. Offers readers a comprehensive workbook format that encompasses basic anatomy, terminology, ICD-9 coding, CPT coding, HCPCS coding, and real-life coding scenarios with operative reports. An excellent reference for coders currently working in the field, and a good tool for employers to test perspective employees.
Medical Terminology and Anatomy for ICD-10 Coding by
Whether you're new to medical coding or transitioning from ICD-9-CM to ICD-10-CM/PCS, Medical Terminology and Anatomy for ICD-10 Coding helps you prepare to code accurately and effectively using the ICD-10-CM/PCS code set with a complete understanding of relevant medical terminology and anatomy. Coding certified (CCS, CPC) and approved AHIMA ICD-10-CM/PCS Academy Trainer Betsy Shiland makes unfamiliar medical language more approachable, and carefully sequenced medical terminology lessons help you understand the vastly increased anatomy necessary for accurate coding, including the locations of hundreds of arteries, muscles, nerves, and other anatomy. This unique resource also includes engaging in-book exercises and interactive online resources, giving you the review and practice you need to reinforce your comprehension and confidently prepare for the coding workforce. Terminology coverage specific to ICD-10-CM/PCS familiarizes you with the terms and definitions you'll encounter most frequently in coding practice. Anatomy and physiology content helps you accurately interpret medical reports to code effectively in ICD-10-CM/PCS. Pathology terms are organized by disease and disorder classification so you can practice locating information just as you will when coding with ICD-10-CM. ICD codes provided for pathology terms and signs/symptoms help you associate diagnoses with related codes. In-book exercises test your understanding as you learn. Pathology and procedure terminology tables challenge you to decode terms by word origins and definitions. Root operation information is incorporated into procedure tables to familiarize you with the associated common suffixes. Electronic medical record format familiarizes you with documentation commonly used in healthcare settings. Guideline Alert! boxes link terminology to relevant ICD-10-CM/PCS information at a glance. Be Careful! boxes alert you to similar and potentially confusing word parts and terms. Interactive learning games and activities on a companion Evolve website reinforce your comprehension and make learning medical terminology more engaging.
Medical Terminology for Insurance and Coding by
Learn medical terminology side-by-side with insurance and coding principles using this unique book. Each chapter is organized by body system and includes a review of the structures and functions, as well as commonly identified diseases and procedures for that system. Whether you are learning these concepts for the first time or reviewing them in preparation for an exam, this book provides plenty of practice on both medical terminology and coding using real-world medical documents.
Understanding Health Insurance by
Understanding Health Insurance, Eleventh Edition, is the essential learning tool you need when preparing for a career in medical insurance billing. This comprehensive and easy-to-understand text is fully-updated with the latest code sets and guidelines, and covers important topics in the field like managed care, legal and regulatory issues, coding systems, reimbursement methods, medical necessity, and common health insurance plans. The eleventh edition has been updated to include new legislation that affects healthcare, ICD-10-CM coding, implementing the electronic health record, the Medical Integrity Program (MIP), medical review process, and more. The practice exercises in each chapter provide plenty of review, and the accompanying workbook�sold separately�provides even more application-based assignments and additional case studies for reinforcement. Includes free online StudyWARE� software that allows you to test your knowledge, free online SimClaim� CMS-1500 claims completion software, and free-trial access to Ingenix's EncoderPro.com�Expert encoder software.
Understanding ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS - A Worktext by
UNDERSTANDING ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS: A Worktext, is designed to help your students master the transition from ICD-9 to ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS coding systems. This hands-on, full-color worktext is fully illustrated to emphasize the impact that knowledge of anatomy and disease processes have on coding accuracy. Practice exercises are provided throughout, and Coding Assignments and Case Studies provide real-world coding practice. The Official Coding Guidelines for ICD-10 are included as an Appendix and are explained throughout each chapter. Learning exercises, key terms, chapter reviews, coding assignments, case studies and internet links are also incorporated in each chapter. A free StudyWare CD-ROM with quizzes, flashcards, and multimedia coding cases, and 30-day free trial of EncoderPro (with ICD-10 codes) is included with the book.
The ICD-10 codes allow for detailed classifications of patients’ conditions, injuries, and diseases. Medical coders are now equipped to capture anatomic sites, etiologies, comorbidities and complications, as well as severity of illnesses.
ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS came into effect for medical claims reporting in 2015, but the two code sets primary distinctions are:
Resources
ICD-11
WHO Family of International Classifications (World Health Organization)
National Drug Code Directory (NDC): drug trade names, dosage form, active ingredient(s), strength and unit, package size and type (HHS and FDA)
