The Book on Healthcare IT by
This book truly simplifies the complicated and multifaceted topic of Healthcare IT with all its various niche terms and subjects such as HIPAA, Hospital IT, HITECH, Healthcare Information Technology, HIT etc. The overly technical jargon and robotic language has been virtually eliminated so that anyone with an interest in the topic of Health IT will find it easy to read and understand the terms being tossed around in the industry today. After reading only a few charters in the manual you will see why it stands out among IT resources in the Healthcare Books section. This book cuts through the confusion and delivers a powerful explanation in a simplified manner, offering optimized comprehension of this complicated topic. Don't mistake simplification for limited delivery of quality content. This text covers the hot topics such as: options for encryption of personal health information, best ways to protect patient privacy, HIPAA requirements and compliance, prevention of fraud by healthcare insiders, wireless network security do's and don'ts and even a section on what we can learn from the Catholic Health System's network and data security. This book is a crash course on the most common issues hospitals, medical record handlers and Healthcare IT professionals face on a daily basis. The author structures the topics in a manner that defines the issue and explains the easiest and most effective path from point A to point B so that the reader can better comprehend the actions necessary for a desirable outcome that both protects the hospital, patient data and healthcare professionals. Minimizing risks, cybersecurity and patient privacy are at the core of discussions in the healthcare industry. This book offers the express learning bridge that has been missing in the industry until now.
Electronic Health Records by
The availability of complete medical information when needed brought the innovation of storing the patient's information electronically. Improvement of patient medical care was and is the catalyst for the electronic health record. Electronic Health Records 2/e provides the conceptual theory and hands-on application students need to work in today's medical office. Hands-on practice uses fully-functional demo version of SpringCharts EHR software, downloadable from the Online Learning Center at no charge, is available for students to use.
Guide to Clinical Documentation by
Develop the skills you need to effectively and efficiently document patient care for children and adults in clinical and hospital settings. This handy guide uses sample notes, writing exercises, and EMR activities to make each concept crystal clear, including how to document history and physical exams and write SOAP notes and prescriptions. This edition has been completely revised and upgraded with more in-depth coverage of documentation and its ramifications, more documentation samples to analyze and emulate, and even more learning tools.
Health Information Management Technology by 
Integrated Electronic Health Records by
Integrated Electronic Health Records: An Online Course and Worktext for Greenway Medical Technologies' PrimeSUITE®. Developed as a comprehensive learning resource, this hands-on course is offered through McGraw-Hill’s Connect Plus. Connect Plus uses the latest technology and adaptive learning techniques to better connect professors to their students, and students to the information and customized resources they need to master a subject. It includes a variety of digital learning tools that enable professors to easily customize courses and allow students to learn and master content and succeed in the course. Here’s what you can expect from the Worktext: -A book meant to complement the online Connect Plus course, written by an author with an extensive HIM/HIT background—Beth Shanholtzer, MAEd, RHIA. -Coverage of Greenway Medical Technologies’ PrimeSUITE, an ONC-ATCB-Certified, fully-integrated, online EHR, PM and interoperability solution. The book is not meant to be an extensive user manual for PrimeSUITE, but rather it covers the key topics for EHR, with PrimeSUITE as the vehicle to demonstrate those topics. Attention is paid to providing the “why” behind each task so that the reader can accumulate transferable skills. -Content that will be appealing to HIM programs, HIT programs, MIBC programs and more. All exercises are designated with PM, EHR, HIM tags, or some combination of those three. Instructors can access a correlation of the Worktext’s Learning Outcomes to the key accrediting bodies such as CAHIIM, ABHES and CAAHEP via the book’s website, www.mhhe.com/greenway.
Medical Office Management and Technology by
From A to Ziesemer, Medical Office Management and Technology is the text to help student's navigate through their medical office management courses, whether as part of a health information technology, medical administration, or any other allied health program. This text starts at the beginning, with an introduction to new students not familiar with this topic, and works thorugh even the most advanced topics in medical office management. With a special focus on leadership, and a logical progression through the topics, this has the makings of a faculty member's most trusted resource for this course.
Using the Electronic Health Record in the Health Care Provider Practice by
USING THE ELECTRONIC HEALTH RECORD IN THE HEALTH CARE PROVIDER PRACTICE, 2E is a practical, hands-on guide that walks students through all facets of electronic health record (EHR) usage in the workplace. The textbook addresses both sides of EHR systems: from administrative functions like billing systems and scheduling appointments to clinical tasks like charting in progress notes and working with diagnostic orders and results.
Electronic Classroom Manager To Accompany: Medical Terminology For Health Professions by 
Case Studies for Use with Computers in the Medical Office by
This capstone simulation using Medisoft Patient Billing Software, Version 16, gives students enhanced training that fosters superior qualifications for a variety of medical office jobs. Extensive hands-on practice with realistic source documents teaches students to input information, schedule appointments, and handle billing, reports, and other essential tasks. The simulation is recommended for students who have completed the study of Medisoft Advanced Version 16 using Computers in the Medical Office. “With the CourseSmart eTextbook, students can save up to 50% off the cost of a print book, reduce their impact on the environment, and access powerful web tools for learning. Faculty can review and compare the full text online without having to wait for a print desk copy. CourseSmart is an online eTextbook, which means users access and view their textbook online when connected to the Internet. Students can also print sections of the book for maximum portability.”
Computers in the Medical Office by
Computers in the Medical Office 7e is the best-selling text for training students using full-featured and current Medisoft Version 16 Patient Billing software. McGraw-Hill publishes the most titles to train students on Medisoft software. Our publishing relationship with Medisoft has been ongoing for 15 years. Computers in the Medical Office 7e offers medical office training using current, realistic medical office cases while building transferable computerized medical billing and scheduling skills. Students who complete this course will learn the appropriate terminology and skills to use any patient billing software program with minimal additional training. As students progress through Medisoft, they learn to gather patient information, schedule appointments and enter transactions. The practical, systematic approach is based on real-world medical office activities. Go with the best. Go with the tried and true. Go with the Medisoft titles that will give you and your students the training and support you need to be successful. Go with McGraw-Hill's Computers in the Medical Office 7e.
The Paperless Medical Office by
Why lecture when you can empower? This reader-friendly text walks users through the Harris CareTracker system, a fully integrated, CCHIT and ONC-ATCB certified Practice Management and Electronic Health Record (EHR) solution. Book chapters offer the context students need to get started, with coverage in key areas such as patient demographics, registration, appointment scheduling, EMR clinical duties, billing, and collections while online access to the live electronic medical record system emerges students in essential features, functions, and workflows. Case studies elevate confidence with even more perspective, challenging students to work through common problems in health care environments, understand the rapidly growing field, and even become expert users of the system. Far more than a book, THE PAPERLESS MEDICAL OFFICE: USING HARRIS CARETRACKER transcends your classroom to launch careers.
Practice Management and EHR: a Total Patient Encounter for Medisoft Clinical by
Practice Management and EHR: A Total Patient Encounter for Medisoft Clinical is a unique one-semester text designed to teach allied health students how to work with an integrated practice management and electronic health record program. It covers EHR and insurance and patient billing so students obtain a comprehensive picture of documenting the administrative and clinical tasks that take place during each step of the patient encounter during an office visit. It prepares students for employment in both administrative and clinical positions in a medical office. Visit the PMEHR OLC
Simulating the Medical Office by
Simulating the Medical Office is a generic, step-by-step, open entry/open exit simulation program that emphasizes a learn-by-doing approach to training. Students learn the skills necessary to manage a medical front office by performing activities that simulate office duties. The modular format makes it possible for students to start instruction at the beginning of the course or in the middle. After completing the course, students will have transferable skills they can apply to any software program.Computer Requirements486/33 or higher processor with Microsoft Windows 95, 98, or 2000, or NT operating system; 8 MB RAM (16 recommended); One 3-1/2-inch high-density disk drive or a CD-ROM drive; 4 MB free hard disk space; monitor capable of 480 x 640 pixels (for optimal operation); printer.
Medical Office Management and Technology by
From A to Ziesemer, Medical Office Management and Technology is the text to help student's navigate through their medical office management courses, whether as part of a health information technology, medical administration, or any other allied health program. This text starts at the beginning, with an introduction to new students not familiar with this topic, and works thorugh even the most advanced topics in medical office management. With a special focus on leadership, and a logical progression through the topics, this has the makings of a faculty member's most trusted resource for this course.
The Medical Manager by
The Medical Manager has been an indispensable workflow management tool for healthcare providers for over 25 years. This new Student Edition provides a step-by-step approach to familiarizing learners with computerized account management using The Medical Manager. Once you master The Medical Manager system, you will have the confidence and skills to be successful using any office management software.
Essentials of Medical Transcription by
This modular-based text builds competence for entry-level medical transcription through scenario drills and a building block format. It was conceived as a result of classroom experiences with student frustration. Simulations provide students the opportunity to gain confidence and competence before they enter the workplace. A free CD-ROM is included with the text. It provides realistic experiences through actual transcription exercises and personalized feedback from an automated error analysis chart and production for pay summary sheet. Students experience the real-world accountability of earning a paycheck.
Lippincott Williams and Wilkins' Pocket Guide for Medical Assisting by
Now in a new and updated edition, Lippincott Williams & Wilkins' Pocket Guide for Medical Assisting is part of our suite of medical assisting products aimed at meeting the challenges of today's faculty ands studnets. This guide is constructed to ease students' transition from classroom to practice, this quick-reference pocket guide provides step-by-step instructions on the most common procedures medical assistants perform in clinical and administrative settings. It keeps all the essential information at hand and organized for easy review, and is the ideal procedure manual every medical assistant needs for the practice setting.
Medical and Dental Associates PC by
With this book, learners will become new employees at the offices of Medical and Dental Associates, P.C., and will learn the skills needed to become an insurance billing specialist. The book is divided into the following parts: patient information and coding systems, completing insurance forms (medical: HCFA-1500 and dental: CDT-2), and resources. It is based on the manual office system. However the student practice disk in the back of the text familiarizes the learner with completing the claim forms electronically.(primary care claims processing, primary care billing, health insurance claims, HCFA-1500 and CDT-2, HCFA-1500 claims processing, CDT-2 claims processing)ALSO AVAILABLE -INSTRUCTOR SUPPLEMENTS CALL CUSTOMER SUPPORT TO ORDERInstructor's Guide ISBN: 0-8273-7561-1
Medical Office Administration by
This all-in-one textbook/workbook features practical information on medical office administrative procedures, skills, and equipment. It clearly details the important role played by medical office employees, showing the importance of being a multi-skilled front office professional. Problem-solving and team-building exercises are integrated into each chapter, enabling students to check their progress on application of topics as they progress through the material. The FREE CD-ROM included with the text simulates real-world scenarios in a contemporary office setting. Applicable CD-ROM exercises also appear in the chapter-ending review sections. The unique worktext format provides all text and exercises students need to master key administrative medical front office theory and skills. An outline of the AAMA (CMA) and AMT (RMA) defined entry-level competencies are specifically covered in each chapter, so students know where to focus their attention as they read and study. Practical activities and exercises in a variety of formats appear at the end of each chapter, helping students understand and apply material as well as develop critical thinking skills. Procedure boxes in applicable chapters offer step-by-step instructions on how to perform specific administrative tasks. A complete list of procedures is featured in the front of the text. Checkpoints throughout the text offer short, critical thinking review questions of previously learned material. Answers to the questions appear in the back of the book in an appendix. Competency checklists in an appendix spell out the individual steps required to complete a full range of administrative procedures so the instructor or student can evaluate performance. Boxes entitled You are the Medical Administrative Assistant feature critical thinking questions associated with a case scenario.
Medical Office Handbook by
TheMedical Office Handbookprovides readers with a handy resource for both the student on their externship or going to their first job, as well as the seasoned professional who has been in the medical office for years. The medical office is a busy place with many day-to-day challenges. Each chapter of the Handbook was written to provide the reader with a practical summary of the critical information they need to know. Sample forms, checklists and letters, as well as resources for more information are included.
Medical Transcription and Terminology by
Every reader can learn to be a medical transcriptionist using Medical Transcription & Terminology: An Integrated Approach. Hands-on exercises, medical terminology previews, relevant illustrations and information regarding certification procedures guide learners along on their path to a career in medical transcription. This newly revised edition contains additional information regarding certification procedures, an expanded selection of medical reports and URLs for relevant Web sites. (key words: Medical transcription, medical terminology, medical reports, transcription, terminology) Benefits: Medical terms with definitions are provided for each report. Flashcards help students master terminology New, detailed illustrations give students a better understanding of body structure. Additional medical reports not found in the first edition Terminology quizzes, transcription test keys, dictation tapes and grade recording diskette complete this instructional package Relevant web sites are referenced, directing students to additional and current information Medical Transcription & Terminology: An Integrated Approach is a classroom-tested method of introducing beginning students to medical transcription and terminology. Students learn transcription through hands-on exercises and are provided with feedback in the form of correctly completed transcribed reports. They can compare and edit their own work. A separate section of medical reports without transcribed versions is included as practice to challenge advanced students. The text's wide variety of medical reports representing 12 major body systems and reflecting new medical techniques and treatments provides students with a substantial knowledge base. This newly revised edition contains additional information regarding certification procedures, an expanded selection of medical reports and URLs for relevant Web sites.
Medical Transcription Fundamentals by
Medical Transcription Fundamentals, a holistic approach to the study of medical transcription, is a comprehensive, yet concise, manual written by a practicing medical transcriptionist for student medical transcriptionists. The conversational approach, filled with practical, "from- the-trenches" tips and advice, makes this book particularly valuable to the new transcriptionist entering the field. Compatible with the AHDI Model Curriculum and designed with the adult-vocational and post-secondary school student in mind, this product meets the needs of both students and instructors. It can serve as the primary textbook in a short-term medical transcription course or be used for independent, on-line study. After completing the exercises and activities in this book, students will be able to prepare standard medical reports accurately and efficiently. They will also be well-versed in the fundamentals of anatomy and medical terminology as used in various medical specialty practices. A bound-in CD-ROM includes 10 hours of actual dictation by physicians practicing in a variety of specialties PLUS additional scripted dictation (3 files for each chapter) to complement the end of chapter exercises, sample reports, and other data needed to prepare the documents discussed in the text.
Credo Reference helps you start your medical research with books of specialized terminology, references on anatomy and physiology, and works on medical practice.
