ENG101 English: Journals and Magazines

Provides news, advice, and jobs for people in academe featuring daily news and advice columns, current job listings, discussion forums, and career-building tools.

Covers all aspects of community college administration, education, and policy, both within the American higher education system as well as within the higher education systems of other countries that have similar tertiary institutions.

Covers the range of professional practices associated with rhetoric and composition: teaching college writing; theorizing rhetoric and composing; administering writing related programs; preparing the field's future teacher-scholars.

This journal serves as a forum for researchers, teachers, practitioners, and education professionals to discuss and share their ideas, experience, and knowledge in combining computer technology with language teaching and learning.

Focuses on theories, methods, and materials in language teaching, study and research.

An international scholarly journal publishing poetry, fiction, essays, and interviews. Presents stories, poems, essays, memoirs, and author interviews.

Dedicated to promoting scholarly exchange among teachers and researchers in the field of language studies.

Publishes articles and essays concerning the organization, administration, practices, and aims of college and university writing programs.

Covers literature of the United States, Canada, and Latin America from the time of European exploration to the 1990s.

This book outlines America's rich literary past while also identifying larger trends along the literary timeline. Concise entries describe an author's major works for a particular year while placing them within the larger context of that writer's career.

A biographical and bibliographical guide to current writers in all fields including poetry, fiction and nonfiction, journalism, drama, television and movies. Information is provided by the authors themselves or drawn from published interviews, feature stories, book reviews and other materials provided by the authors/publishers.

A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture.

Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology. Entries typically describe scientific concepts, provide overviews of scientific areas and, in some cases, define terms.

This book presents the principal theoretical ideas of more than 100 great thinkers of the Western world from such disciplines as philosophy, theology, the physical sciences, the social sciences, psychology, and religion. Arranged chronologically to assist the reader in recognizing and appreciating the development of ideas from the early Greeks through the early 20th century.

A handbook for honors deans, directors, and faculty advisors.

A monograph published by the National Collegiate Honors Council providing information on diversity in honors education.

A collection of analytical essays devoted to a discussion of key public policy issues on a variety of research areas.

Discusses why the experience of the armed forces in recent wars results in recommendations that those involved with the system of military education seriously study the way strategy is taught.

A biweekly professional publication focused on community, technical, and junior colleges. Provides news and feature articles, analyses of critical academic trends and issues, vital statistics, technology updates, and employment opportunities in the field. For college administrators and faculty.

Is a general interest daily newspaper providing investigative reporting and coverage of politics and policy.

Provides ideas and information about writing centers in high schools, colleges, and universities. Focuses on challenges in tutoring theory and methodology, handling ESL issues, directing a writing center, training tutors, adding computers, designing and expanding centers, and using tutorial theory and pedagogy.

B.F. Skinner was famous for his theory of operant conditioning, involving positive and negative reinforcement. It was widely accepted, but Skinner's theories about how children learn language were a source of some debate.

At Oakland International High School, about a quarter of the students are unaccompanied minors and face possible deportation back to Central American countries. We teach them basic English skills, speaking practice, reading and writing, sometimes basic phonics and decoding, if that's what they need. I would say that survival English is also incredibly important because it's a safe haven and it's a safe space for students who are coming with limited academic and literacy skills.