|
Do you need… |
Try this… |
|
Background information, an overview, or established facts? |
Reference books: ex. encyclopedias, dictionaries, authoritative websites |
|
Comprehensive information on a topic? |
General books |
|
Current, in depth information? |
Scholarly journal articles (use a database!) |
|
Current, general information? |
Popular magazines, newspapers, news websites |
LAW ENFORCEMENT and PUBLIC SAFETY
by
Student Handbook for Career Directions
by
John Douglas's Guide to Landing a Career in Law Enforcement
by
The ultimate insider's guide to pursuing a career in one of the hottest, fastest-growing career sectors in America In a departure from his usual edge-of-the-seat coverage, New York Times bestselling author and legendary FBI profiler John Douglas draws on his 25 years of experience to offer this unique career guide. Written for those interested in pursuing a career in law enforcement but unsure which agency is right for them, John Douglas's Guide to Landing a Career in Law Enforcement is a treasure trove of insider information and step-by-step instructions that arms you with: A comprehensive overview of law enforcement agencies and career opportunities-- from park ranger to air marshal to NSA code cracker Guidance on finding and winning the ideal job in law enforcement Work sheets, checklists, and self-evaluations Websites, contact information, study guides, and other valuable resources
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Choosing a College Major
by
Custom Enrichment Module: Guide to Careers in Criminal Justice
by
Armed Groups
by
Contains a discussion of armed groups which are considered to include classic insurgents, terrorists, guerrillas, militias, police agencies, criminal organizations, war-lords, privatized military organizations, mercenaries, pirates, drug cartels, apocalyptic religious extremists, orchestrated rioters and mobs, and tribal factions. - To study armed groups use of history, political science, anthropology, sociology, theology, and economics are traditional areas of research. The book also delves into matters of ethics, technology, intelligence, education, the law, diplomacy, military science, and even mythology. - The book is divided into five sections: History and armed groups, Present context and environment, Religion and inspiration, thinking differently about armed groups, the shape of things to come. Related products: Other products produced by the United States (U.S./US) Naval War College can be found here: https://bookstore.gpo.gov/agency/621 Defense and National Security collection can be found here: https://bookstore.gpo.gov/catalog/security-defense-law-enforcement/defense-national-security Counterterrorism resources collection can be found here: https://bookstore.gpo.gov/catalog/security-defense-law-enforcement/counterterrorism
Criminal Courts
by
Written by three leaders in the field, this text explores all conventional topics (court structure, courtroom actors, and the trial and appeal process) as well as others seldom covered. The text first reviews the judicial function, the role and purpose of law, sources of law, the various types of law, and the American court system structure and operations, both state and federal. The participants in the system are discussed next, followed by the pre-trial, trial, and post-trial processes. A wealth of pedagogical tools adds valuable related content, ranging from the points of view of court process participants to comparative information to hotly debated topics.
The Death Penalty
by
Ethical Dilemmas & Decisions in Criminal Justice
by
Law Enforcement Ethics
by
Law Enforcement Ethics: Classic and Contemporary Issues for the New Millenniumcovers many of the important facets of law enforcement ethics, including the selection, training, and supervision of officers. Editor Brian D. Fitch brings together the works of a diverse task force with a vested interested in reducing officer misconduct--including law enforcement scholars, educators, and practitioners from a variety of disciplines--to present a comprehensive look at this critical subject that is gaining more attention in agencies and in the media today. The text covers topics on the roles of culture, environment, social learning, policy, and reward systems as they pertain to law enforcement ethics, as well as the ethics of force, interrogations, marginality, and racial profiling. This volume also covers several unique aspects of ethics, such as the role of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in misconduct (PTSD), cheating during law enforcement promotional practices, off-duty misconduct, and best practices in developing countries.
Officer-Involved Shootings and Use of Force
by
Officer-Involved Shootings and Use of Force: Practical Investigative Techniques, Second Edition continues to provide sound and sober models, protocols, and procedures to handle the highly charged fall-out from officer involved shootings. Written by cops for cops, it is designed to address the needs of the agency, the rights of the employee, and the concerns of the public, and give law enforcement the policies and tools to properly investigate and document this high profile area. Updated and expanded, the second edition welcomes contributions from Randy Dickson, one of the nation's leading experts, who presents new recommendations for post-incident support and the emotional aspect of these traumatic events, including the potential for Post Traumatic Stress Disorder suffered by the officer. Other new chapters include a study of incidents involving less lethal weapons, such as Tasers, a model policy for documenting these incidents, and the latest findings on positional asphyxia and Excited Delirium Deaths. The book also includes additional information on report writing and the proper handling of media and public information policy. The author offers expert tips on procedures including handling suspects, interviewing witnesses and employees, and investigating the scene, as well as critical points for working with assisted suicides. New, up-to-date case studies illustrate and explain the need for consistent, reliable protocols to protect the agency, the officer, and the public from unnecessary litigation, public distrust, media frenzy, and harm to either the agency's or the officer's reputation. Applicable to all levels including city, county, state, and federal law enforcement, thisSecond Editioncontains an "outstanding presentation of guidelines, authority, and assignment responsibility to establish the best organizational team structure to investigate [officer-involved] shootings," says Larry Moore, Certified Emergency Manager, Knoxville, Tennessee.
Police Field Operations
by
Police Integrity and Ethics
by
Criminology Today
by
This text offers a student-friendly, up-to-date and comprehensive introduction to the study of criminology. Criminology Today: An Integrative Introduction, 7e, continues to offer students a clear, contemporary, and comprehensive introduction to criminology that encourages critical thinking about the causes of crime and crime-prevention strategies. The text's hallmark thematic approach of social problems versus social responsibility (Is crime a matter of individual responsibility or a symptom of a dysfunctional society?) prompts students to think critically about the causes of crime and helps them see the link between crime theories and crime policies. Teaching and Learning This comprehensive text addresses the poignant question of how security and freedom interface in an age of increasing globalism. It provides: Comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of important topics: Such as research methods, criminology and social policy, white collar crime and terrorism Latest developments in the field: Covering the ways in which crime and criminals have changed in ways that few people had previously imagined would occur, and how these changes hold considerable significance for each one of us and for our nation as a whole Unparalleled pedagogical features: Gives students the tools to master key concepts faster and more effectively, and provides support for instructors
Definitive Guide to Criminal Justice and Criminology on the World Wide Web
by
Essential Criminology
by
Teach Yourself: Criminology: A Complete Introduction
by
Crime Scene Investigation, Criminalistics, and the Law
by
Crime Scene Investigation: Criminalistics, and the Law is a new title that is the first to include not only crime scene investigation and criminalistics, but also the laws that govern them. It focuses on how the crime scene should be investigated, searched, and processed for evidence, but also includes an emphasis on the legal admissibility of these procedures. This book discusses the forensic value of physical evidence and the role of forensic science and criminalistics in evaluating this evidence and presenting it in court. It's heavy on informative content that is reinforced by the many valuable and illustrative photographs, exhibits, and actual cases. Timely and familiar cases are used to help students better understand the importance of proper crime scene investigation. Included are the United States Supreme Court cases that deal with fire scene and death scene investigations, and a wealth of other recent state and federal cases that deal with crime scene search and seizure, forensic experts and testing, whether there is "implied" consent to search a crime scene, what constitutes an "exigency" at a crime scene, chain of custody, scientific testing, admissibility of crime scene evidence, the admissibility of blood splatter analysis, fingerprints, and DNAWith learning tools such as key terms, definitions, relevant Internet references, and end of chapter summaries, this book will leave the reader with a complete education regarding crime scene investigation.
Criminal Investigation
by
Every Contact Leaves a Trace
by
Fingerprints
by
Silent Witness
by
"Bones have an uncanny knack of holding important clues as to the fate of the individuals to whom they belonged." As portrayed in mystery novels and more than nine television shows including CSI: Crime Scene Investigation, American Justice and City Confidential, forensic anthropologists work in an environment where the stakes are high, the pressure is intense, and their findings are vital in criminal investigations. It's a fascinating and often dramatic world. Go behind the scenes with forensic anthropologists and learn about their techniques, how they locate a body, how they carefully uncover evidence, and how the unique characteristics of each body bears silent witness to age, sex, cause of death and clues as to who or what was responsible. With 29 real-life case studies and more than 350 color photographs and illustrations, Silent Witness is a fascinating read for anyone interested in the world of forensics.
America's Courts
by
Open this book and step into America's court system! With Neubauer and Fradella's best-selling text, you will see for yourself what it is like to be a judge, a prosecutor, a defense attorney, and more. This fascinating and well-researched text gives you a realistic sense of being in the courthouse--you will quickly gain an understanding of what it is like to work in and be a part of the American criminal justice system. This concept of the courthouse "players" makes it easy to understand each person's important role in bringing a case through the court process. Throughout the text, the authors highlight not only the pivotal role of the criminal courts but also the court's importance and impact on society as a whole.
California Criminal Codes
by
CALIFORNIA CRIMINAL CODES has been updated to reflect all of the recent changes to the California Penal Code. CALIFORNIA CRIMINAL CODES is designed to be the core textbook for the traditional one-semester course or the new two-semester course. Part I introduces the student to concepts of modern criminal law. Part II explores substantive law. All aspects of criminal law are thoroughly covered in a comprehensive yet reader-friendly style. Cases and practicum are used throughout to cement and clarify the intent and interpretation of modern law. The reader acquires a comprehensive knowledge of California criminal law, while at the same time gaining and understanding and appreciation for this very complex component of our criminal justice system.
Criminal Justice Interactive
by
Criminal Justice Interactive (CJI) is the first ever comprehensive multimedia introduction to criminal justice. CJi integrates a dramatic movie, dynamic simulation activities, learning modules that present key topics and objectives, and assignable & gradable homework and review materials--all within an engaging and interactive graphic experience. Some exciting features include: * Full length 70 minute movie accompanies media product -- Movie Trailer - http: //www.youtube.com/watch?v=B_IWFIrszPs * Movie will be incorporated into each chapter/building in CJi. Students will get 2 movie clips in each building* Movie was originally scripted with 25 hired actors* Small, short, bulleted companion text to accompany media for a true interactive course experience* Learning Modules that present key learning topics * Interactive Simulations that allow students to apply key topics * Assignable and gradable Homework and Review materials
Criminal Law
by
Criminal Law: The Essentials provides an engaging overview of criminal law in a slim, accessible, and affordable format. A concise and thoroughly updated version of Sue Titus Reid's acclaimed Criminal Law, Seventh Edition, this book is an ideal resource for instructors who would like to supplement their courses with additional reading material without overwhelming their students. Featuring incisive chapters on such timely topics as terrorism and substance abuse, the text also integrates a variety of pedagogical resources. Each chapter features several study aids, including chapter outlines, chapter summaries, and study questions, as well as a debate issue designed to generate lively discussion on a thought-provoking topic. Key terms are clearly defined throughout and also appear at the end of each chapter and at the end of the text. Each chapter also includes two Internet Activities; these engaging exercises draw students into the subject through relevant real-world applications. Case, name, and general indexes enable students to find information quickly. Appendix A reprints portions of the U.S. Constitution for easy reference to the sections mentioned throughout the text. Appendix B features a legal case citation, along with an explanation of how to read and interpret it. Features: * Incorporates references to federal and state statutes and cases to illustrate agreement and divergence within criminal law * Focuses on substantive rather than procedural criminal law; when necessary, also includes discussions of constitutional principles that directly relate to criminal law * Includes focus boxes, which highlight recent examples of crimes as well as selected statutes or appellate opinions * Integrates figures and graphs to relate general principles and laws directly to recent crime data * State-specific guides for California, Florida, Illinois, New York, and Texas are available separately
An Introduction to Criminal Law
by
An Introduction to Criminal Law walks readers through a chronological and simplistic (yet detailed) dissection of the legal labyrinth. The principles of criminal law are explained step-by-step with a focus on the professional applications of legal principles within the criminal justice system. Recent evolving legislation pertaining to terrorism, organized crime, and white-collar crime are addressed. Written in an engaging conversational tone, this resource is ideal for undergraduate criminal law courses.
Introduction to Law and Criminal Justice
by
Introduction to Law and Criminal Justice provides a comprehensive overview of the foundational legal issues in criminal justice. Written in an easy-to-understand format, it focuses on three areas of law relevant to criminal justice: substantive criminal law; constitutional issues that demand balancing individual liberties and governmental authority; and constitutional criminal procedure. This thorough introduction relies on edited judicial decisions with explanatory text, thus allowing readers to hone their analytical and critical thinking skills as they interpret the judicial decisions. This case method of study encourages students to examine both the majority and dissenting rationales and offers insight into the changing nature of precedent and how legal principles are adapted and applied under different factual circumstances. With its careful explanation of judicial decisions, this text offers students an excellent introduction to legal analysis and will prepare them for further study of law, social values, and criminal justice. Key Features: * Provides a student-friendly introduction to criminal justice and the case method of study. * Presents carefully edited judicial decisions with accompanying explanation, to offer case material that is accessible to undergraduate introductory-level students. * Focuses on three areas of law relevant to criminal justice -- substantive criminal law, constitutional issues evoking tensions between governmental authority and individual liberties, and constitutional criminal procedure. * Includes discussions of select high-profile cases, including Kitty Genovese, Westboro Baptist Church, Andrea Yates, and Brian Mitchell, to provide students with examples of how legal principles have been applied in publicized and newsworthy cases. Resources: * Instructor resources include an Instructor's Manual, Test Bank, and PowerPoint Lecture Outlines. * Every new print copy is packaged with full access to the student companion website featuring a variety of engaging and interactive study tools (*eBook offerings do not include access code).
Introduction to Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice : Instructor's Edition
by
American Prisons and Jails
by
Correctional Administration
by
Offering a blend of theory and practice, CORRECTIONAL ADMINISTRATION, 2/e provides an authentic look at the field of correctional administration-from its historical roots to the management of the correctional staff, environment, and facility. Organized into five sections, it provides a comprehensive understanding of the critical issues facing correctional administrators and the important functions of correctional operations. This edition includes the latest information on leadership, mentoring, empowerment, budgeting, external environments, special offenders and current issues. Case studies, experiential exercises and group assignments appear throughout and help students understand leadership theories and supervisory practices.
Correctional Boot Camps: Lessons from a Decade of Research.
by
Jailing Communities : the Impact of jail expansion and effective public safety strategies
by
A Resource Guide to Law Enforcement, Corrections, and Forensic Technologies
by
This guide provides information to law enforcement, corrections, and forensic science professionals to assist them in evaluating, acquiring, and using equipment and technology. The main body of the guide presents an overview of the technology of most concern to the law enforcement, corrections, and forensic science communities. It contains 19 chapters arranged in four sections. Section I, "Officer Protection and Crime Prevention," contains eight chapters that focus on protective equipment, restraint systems, firearms, less-than-lethal weapons, pursuit management surveillance, offender monitoring/officer location, and concealed weapon and contraband detection. Section II, "Public Safety in Critical Incidents," is composed of three chapters that cover explosives detection and remediation, chemical and biological defense, and transportation infrastructure security. Section III, "Communications and Information Technology," contains five chapters that address communications interoperability, biometric identification, information sharing and analysis, crime mapping, and electronic crime/cybercrime. Section IV, "Investigative and Forensic Sciences," consists of three chapters that focus on crime laboratory assistance, forensic technology research and development,
and investigative sciences. Each chapter includes a description of relevant technologies (equipment and devices, software, and related training) available to local law enforcement, corrections, and forensic science professionals and lists the following: potential funding sources, standards and testing, research and development efforts, and sources of further information. Four appendixes provide supplemental information on the Justice Department's Office of Justice Programs and Office of Community Oriented Policing Services.
Criminal Behavior
by
Criminal Behavior
by
A comprehensive psychological approach to criminal and antisocial behavior. Building on a tradition of excellence, Criminal Behavior: A Psychological Approachis accurate, well-researched, contemporary, and comprehensive. It offers a detailed look at crime, what may lead to it, and how criminal behavior may be prevented -- all from a psychological perspective. With a focus on serious crimes, particularly those involving violence, this text offers an all-inclusive look at a very complex field through effective and engaging material that has been classroom-tested for more than thirty years. Now in the Eleventh Edition, you'll find crucial updates relating to crime definitions and DSM-5 categories, as well as the most current statistics and recently proposed models and theories. Numerous topics -- such as intimate partner violence, juvenile sex offending, terrorist recruitment, elderly abuse, and sexual burglary -- now receive more extensive coverage than ever before.
Criminal Shadows : Unlocking the Minds of Serial Killers and Sexual Predators-- and Cracking Cases
by
The Criminal & the Community
by
Drug Use and Abuse
by
DRUG USE AND ABUSE takes an interdisciplinary approach in its coverage of current drug issues. It weaves psychological, historical, cultural, social, biological, and medical perspectives -- emphasizing the idea that a drug's effects depend not only on its properties, but also on the biological and psychological characteristics of its user. This theme is highlighted throughout, and is prominent in discussions of the individual classes of drugs, as well as in the chapters on pharmacology and psychopharmacology.
Intervention
by
In simple terms, this book shows how chemical dependency affects those around the addicted person, and teaches concerned people how to help and how to do it right. In Intervention: How To Help Someone Who Doesn't Want Help, Dr. Vernon Johnson describes the process that has successfully motivated thousands of chemically dependent people to accept help. In simple terms, this book shows how chemical dependency affects those around the addicted person, and teaches concerned people how to help and how to do it right. Johnson shows how chemical dependence affects those around the sick person--spouses, children, neighbors, co-workers. He also points out that intervention is not a clinical process, but a personal one that brings families back together.
Social World of Drugs
by
A Gallery of Rogues
by
"Intrigue, espionage, peculiar clues, lucky breaks, misguided police work, desperate lawmen, and calculating criminals - all these can be found in A Gallery of Rogues. This major new compendium is a compelling compilation of court testimony, autobiographical accounts, and official documents. Written by two-time Edgar scroll-award winner Michael Kurland, A Gallery of Rogues profiles more than 500 lawmen, con men, and criminals of American legend from Lizzle Borden to "Son of Sam."" "Readers will find lesser-known criminals, such as Winnie Ruth Judd, the "Trunk Murderess," and Chicago's Bluebeard, Herman Mudgett, along with the legendary Bonnie and Clyde, the evangelist Aimee Semple McPherson, and the infamous serial killer Ed Gein, whose notorious crimes and behavior were the inspiration for the fictional killers in Psycho and The Silence of the Lambs." "This comprehensive reference is organized in an easily accessible A-to-Z format for ready reference. Biographical portraits can be found next to thematic entries on topics such as kidnapping, RICO, the Ku Klux Klan, the Miranda ruling, and capital punishment. The book also contains dozens of telling black-and-white photographs, a glossary of criminal argot, and a chronology of American crime." "A Gallery of Rogues provides a glimpse into the criminal mind and the criminal justice system as it re-creates the blood-chilling horror of the original crimes, the lingering doubts about the guilt of individuals who were sentenced to death on insubstantial evidence, and the fascination of unsolved mysteries." "Michael Kurland's thought-provoking analysis of the gruesome crimes, which he describes in unforgettable detail, makes A Gallery of Rogues a fascinating read and an indispensable reference guide for all true-crime buffs."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
The Most Evil Women in History
by
Serial Killers
by
True Crime Stories : 50 Headline-Grabbing Murders from Around the World
by
The End of the Dream the Golden Boy Who Never Grew Up
by
AS SEEN ON 48 HOURS -- AN EXPLOSIVE ACCOUNT OF LETHAL GREED AND TWISTED DESIRE, FROM THE FILES OF AMERICA'S #1 TRUE CRIME WRITER, ANN RULE They were best friends, four talented and charismatic young men who lived charmed lives among the evergreens of Washington state: Kevin, the artist; Steve, the sculptor; Scott, the nature lover and unabashed ladies' man; and Mark, the musician and poet. With their stunning good looks, whip-sharp minds, athletic bodies -- and no lack of women who adored them -- none of them seemed slated for disaster. But few knew the reality behind the leafy screen that surrounded Seven Cedars, Scott's woodland dream home -- a tree house equipped with every luxury. From this idyllic enclave, some of these trusted friends would become the quarry for a vigilant Seattle police detective and an FBI special agent, who unmasked clues to disturbing secrets that spawned murder, suicide, million-dollar bank robberies, drug-dealing, and heartbreaking betrayal. When the end came in a violent stand-off, the ringleader of the foursome -- the fugitive dubbed "Hollywood" for his ingenious disguises and flawless getaways; the persuasive talker who turned his friends into accomplices -- faced a final chapter no one could have predicted. In a blast of automatic gunfire, the highest and lowest motives of the human heart were, at last, revealed. Along with four other true-crime tales, The End of the Dream is a masterful and compelling tour of the criminal mind from Ann Rule.
A Fever in the Heart
by
If You Really Loved Me
by
There was only one way to please her father: Murder his wife.... David Brown was the consummate entrepreneur: a computer wizard and millionaire by age thirty-two. When his beautiful young wife was shot to death as she slept, Brown's fourteen-year-old daughter, Cinnamon, confessed to killing her stepmother. The California courts sentenced her harshly: twenty-four years to life. But in the wake of Cinnamon's murder conviction, thanks in part to two determined lawmen, the twisted private world of David Brown himself unfolded with astonishing clarity -- revealing a trail of perverse love, twisted secrets, and evil mind games. A complex and often dangerous investigation suggested a horrifying scenario: Was the seemingly bland David Brown really a stone-cold killer who convinced his own daughter to prove her love by killing for him? A man who turned young women into his own personal slaves, who collected nearly $1 million in insurance money, and married his dead wife's teenage sister, David Brown was a sociopath who would stop at nothing...a deadly charmer who almost got away with everything.
Bitter Harvest
by
This New York Times bestseller and shocking "tour de force from America's best true crime writer" (Kirkus Reviews)--which formed the basis for the Lifetime movie event A House on Fire--follows a woman whose seemingly perfect life hides a destructive madness. In this harrowing New York Times bestseller, Ann Rule is at her masterful best as she winnows horrific truths from the ashes of what seemed like paradise in Prairie Village, Kansas. Rule probes the case of Debora Green, a doctor and a loving mother who seemed to epitomize the dreams of the American heartland. A small-town girl with a genius IQ, she achieved an enviable life: her own medical practice, a handsome physician husband, three perfect children, and an opulent home in an exclusive Kansas City suburb. But when a raging fire destroyed that home and took two lives, the trail of clues led investigators to a stunning conclusion. Piece by piece, Ann Rule digs beneath this placid Midwestern facade to unveil a disturbing portrait of strangely troubled marriages, infidelity, desperation, suicide, and escalating acts of revenge that forever changed dozens of lives.
The True Crime Files of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
by
A Very English Scandal
by
The basis for the Emmy award-winning limited series starring Hugh Grant and Ben Whishaw A behind-the-scenes look at the desperate, scandalous private life of a British MP and champion manipulator, and the history-making trial that exposed his dirty secrets While Jeremy Thorpe served as a Member of Parliament and Leader of the Liberal Party in the 1960s and 70s, his bad behavior went under the radar for years. Police and politicians alike colluded to protect one of their own. In 1970, Thorpe was the most popular and charismatic politician in the country, poised to hold the balance of power in a coalition government. But Jeremy Thorpe was a man with a secret. His homosexual affairs and harassment of past partners, along with his propensity for lying and embezzlement, only escalated as he evaded punishment. Until a dark night on the moor with an ex-lover, a dog and a hired gun led to consequences that even his charm and power couldn't help him escape. Dubbed the "Trial of the Century," Thorpe's climactic case at the Old Bailey in London was the first time that a leading British politician had stood trial on a murder charge, the first time that a murder plot had been hatched in the House of Commons. And it was the first time that a prominent public figure had been exposed as a philandering gay man, in an era when homosexuality had only just become legal. With the pace and drama of a thriller, A Very English Scandal is an extraordinary story of hypocrisy, deceit and betrayal at the heart of the British Establishment.
