Technology in Credo: Books

Journey through years of forgotten Islamic history to discover one thousand fascinating scientific and technological inventions still being used throughout the world today. Take a look at all of the discoveries that led to the great technological advances of our time; engineering, early medicinal practices, and the origins of cartography are just a few of the areas explored in this book.

Completely revised and updated 2nd edition. With over 4,500 A-Z entries, 450 full-color photographs and drawings, over 150 fascinating feature notes, and full-page tables and charts, it is the most current and comprehensive student science dictionary available.

Technical descriptions plus illustrations and further reading, arranged alphabetically, most on individual objects, artifacts, techniques, and products.

A comprehensive glossary providing clear explanations of the major terms in the field of innovation, covering areas such as product development, design and creativity. By simplifying complex terminology and highlighting key debates, this book is an ideal companion for both students and practitioners in the field.

Covers such topics as cyber warfare, designing children, video games and virtual reality, nanotechnology, and technology and the environment.

This biennial publication aims to inform policy makers and analysts on recent and future changes in global science, technology and innovation (STI) patterns and their potential implications on and for national and international STI policies. Based on the most recent data available, offers comparative analysis of new policies and instruments being used in OECD countries and a number of major emerging economies (including Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, the Russian Federation and South Africa) to boost the contribution of science and innovation to growth and to global and social challenges.

Work is constantly reshaped by technological progress. New ways of production are adopted, markets expand, and societies evolve. But some changes provoke more attention than others, in part due to the vast uncertainty involved in making predictions about the future. The 2019 World Development Report looks at how the nature of work is changing as a result of advances in technology today.

This encyclopedic dictionary offers information on the art and science of stereoscopic 3D, including still and moving images; film and digital image acquisition; production, post-production, distribution, and exhibition; and human visual perception.

This innovative title looks at the history of the Web from its early roots in the research projects of the US government to the interactive online world we know and use today.

Written in an easily accessible style, this unrivaled study aid and reference tool is specifically designed to support those taking computer courses or courses where computers are used, including GCSE, A-Level, ECDL and 14-19 Diplomas in Functional Skills in schools and further education colleges.

Traces the history of the computer and shows how business and government were the first to explore its unlimited, information-processing potential. Provides updated analysis on software and computer networking, including new material on the programming profession, social networking, and mobile computing. It expands its focus on the IT industry with fresh discussion on the rise of Google and Facebook as well as how powerful applications are changing the way we work, consume, learn, and socialize.

This handbook of cybersecurity best practices is for public officials and citizens, employers and employees, corporations and consumers. Essays also address the development of state-of-the-art software systems and hardware for public and private organizations.

Provides coverage of the terms used in computing, including hardware, software, programme languages, networks and applications, e-commerce and the Internet.

Provides overviews of hundreds of applications of computer technology and the fundamental design, economics and social impacts of the information society.

Traces the computer industry from its origins in 1950s mainframes, through the establishment of standards beginning in 1965 and the introduction of personal computing in the 1980s. It concludes with the Internets explosive growth since 1995.

Explores how artificial intelligence helps us understand human intelligence and machines that compose music and write stories, and it asks if AI is really a threat.

First comprehensive review of this subject to date. Its editors emphasize two main different forms of study: the use of the web as an historical resource, and the web as an object of study in its own right.

This invaluable guide provides a creative, informative, and practical introduction to the general principles of information design. With chapters on understanding the audience, structure, legibility and readability, selection of media, experimentation, and multi-platform delivery, offers a complete overview of this fundamental aspect of visual communication.

This reader brings together, for the first time, in one core volume the essential readings that have emerged in Digital Humanities. Chapters provide a historical overview of how the term 'Humanities Computing' developed into the term 'Digital Humanities', and highlight core readings which explore the meaning, scope, and implementation of the field.

Defining more than 10,000 words and phrases from everyday slang to technical terms and concepts, this dictionary of the audiovisual language embraces more than 50 subject areas within film, television, and home entertainment.

Provides students and the general public alike with a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications. In this 9th edition, James Watson and Anne Hill provide a detailed compendium of the different facets of personal, group, mass-media and internet communication that continues to be a vital source of information for all those interested in how communication affects our lives.

Explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials--is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. For readers and researchers of all levels, the Encyclopedia provides perspective and context about content, delivery systems, and their myriad relationships, as well as clearly drawn avenues for further research.

Offers critical assessments of theoretical and applied research on digitally-mediated communication, a central area of study in the 21st century.

The first comprehensive reference work to which teachers, students, and the curious can quickly turn for reliable information on the key terms and concepts of the field.

Covers the key concepts central to understanding recent developments in media and communications studies. Wide-ranging in scope and accessible in style it sets out a useful, clear map of the important theories, methods, and debates.

Introduces and aims to advance the field of critical media studies by tracing, defining, and problematizing its established and emergent terminology. The book historicizes thinking about media and society, whether that means noting a long history of "new media," or tracing how understandings of media "power" vary across time periods and knowledge formations.

As a resource for exploring the influences on American values, this text provides an essential and an accessible commentary on the ways in which advances in communication technologies and practices have shaped American opinion and history.

Ingeniously organized and eminently browsable, this richly visual volume is divided into six big sections--medicine, transportation, communication, biology, chemistry, and the environment. This remarkable depiction of history tells the story of every Big Idea in our history, seen through the lens of where science is taking us today--and tomorrow.

Provides an authoritative and accessible look at the lives of the men and women who have shaped science.

A curated set of educational videos covering topics of importance in Science.

National Geographic answers all the questions about how things work--the science, technology, biology, chemistry, physics, and mechanics--in an indispensible book that reveals the science behind virtually everything.

A fourth, meticulously updated and revised edition of this comprehensive and renowned work. Covers all the important topics in this key subject area including chemistry, physics, molecular biology, genetics, biochemistry, human anatomy, mathematics, astronomy and computing. Superbly comprehensive and accessible, this newly updated dictionary is the ideal reference tool for anyone who needs to understand scientific terms, whether student, researcher or enthusiastic layperson.

Gives concise, accurate and illuminating accounts of key positions, concepts, arguments and figures in the philosophy of science.

Designed for high school, college, and general readers, this encyclopedia details expeditions made in the quest for scientific knowledge from the fifteenth century to the present day. Concise and appealing articles focus on the goals and accomplishments of the explorers and expeditions, and how the sciences - from anthropology to zoology - benefited from these voyages of discovery.

Comprehensive in scope, this title's range spans terms encountered in the practice of architecture from Classical to green, from traditional materials to the latest products, from precise definitions of architectural styles to the particulars of specifications writing.

Comprehensive dictionary of maintenance and reliability terms, covering the process, manufacturing, and other related industries, every major area of engineering used in industry, and more. Alphabetically arranged entries include special features to encourage usage and understanding. Supplemented by hundreds of figures and tables that clearly demonstrate the principles & concepts behind important process control, instrumentation, reliability, machinery, asset management, lubrication, corrosion, and more.

Offers complete details on traditional, advanced, and emerging manufacturing engineering processes. All new topics include cloud computing, Internet of Things, 3D printing, nano manufacturing and advanced manufacturing, and operations research.