LibGuides: ProDev-5wk Professional Development: Conflict Resolution

Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Manuals, etc.

Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict by Lester R. Kurtz
Publication Date: 2008

Provides crucial and contemporary information about antagonism and reconciliation within both the public and private realms.
World of Sociology, Gale by Joseph M. Palmisano
Publication Date: 2002

A comprehensive, subject-specific guide to the concepts, theories, discoveries, developments and pioneers related to the field of sociology. Coverage includes alphabetically arranged topical essays, definitions and biographies, intelligently organized and written in clear, concise and easy-to-understand language.
The Dictionary of Human Geography
Includes short definitional entries (see, for example, the entries for plantation and dry farming) and longer, interpretative essays on human geography and its major sub-fields (such as geopolitics, development, and spatiality), thereby providing readers with a contextual background to the terms. By directing readers to the major sources for further information, the Dictionary also serves as an unparalleled companion to geographical literature.
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice
A comprehensive and systematic collection of designated entries that describe, in detail, important diversity and social justice themes.
Ideas for Leaders Collection by Roddy Millar
Publication Date: 2016

Ideas for Leaders curates the latest and most significant management and business thinking from around the world and distills often highly complex concepts into straightforward summaries which highlight how ideas can be applied to improve organizational performance. The information from which the Ideas are produced represents over a billion dollars’ worth of research conducted at top business schools around the world. The material introduces students and other readers to the new thinking that is revolutionizing how we manage people and organizations.
Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology
An indispensable guide to the vibrant and expanding field of sociology. Featuring entries, from concise definitions to discursive essays, written by leading international academics, the Dictionary offers a truly global perspective, examining both American and European traditions and approaches. Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field.
Special Education: A Reference Book for Policy & Curriculum Development
A reference work that presents a chronology focusing on special education, its development, and the important issues that both positively and negatively affect the field. Newly updated, this 3rd edition provides an excellent introduction to special education in all of its practical aspects - how it developed, its curriculum, assessment issues, the law, and advocacy.

Web Resources

Conflict Resolution Network
The CRN's vision is to create a conflict-resolving community in a culture of peace and social justice. It does this by researching, developing, teaching, and implementing the theory and practice of conflict resolution throughout a national and international network.
Center for Systematic Peace
The Center "is engaged in innovative research on the problem of political violence within the structural context of the dynamic global system, that is, global systems analysis. The Center supports scientific research and quantitative analysis in many issue areas related to the fundamental problems of violence in both human relations and societal-systemic development proces
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
Research on peacekeeping, biographies of scholars in the field, and overviews of programs and events.
Association for Conflict Resolution
A professional organization enhancing the practice and public understanding of conflict resolution.

Audiovisual Resources

Alternative Dispute Resolution
A lawsuit can drag on for years, creating an emotional and financial drain far exceeding any anticipated rewards. Prolonged litigation also presents huge operational problems for t...
Practical Strategies for Resolving Conflict
DESCRIPTION
Conflict within an aged care facility is a part of daily life. This film will look at conflict with staff, relatives, peers, doctors, and administration, and suggest different courses of action.
Problem Solving and Conflict Resolution: Teamwork in the Workplace
This program discusses the need for solid problem-solving strategies and conflict resolution skills in the workplace. It identifies the structural factors that can cause conflict and looks at practical ways to address it. A part of the series Teamwork in the Workplace. (22 minutes)
Styles of Conflict Management
Conflict management styles include, submissive, evasive, competitive, cooperative and collaborative. Collaborative conflict management is assertive and creative and tends to have the best outcome.
Understanding the Nature of Conflict
In a health care setting, intricate ethical, moral, and professional obligations make the workplace particularly prone to conflict. Focusing specifically on aged care, this program examines the typical conflicts that can occur at work and the most productive ways to handle them. First, conflict is defined, and situations in which it is more likely to arise as well as indicators of forthcoming disagreements are outlined. Next, the five general styles of conflict are explained and the skills to manage any type of conflict are summarized. Then, behaviors that elicit resistance, such as blaming others and making threats, and those that elicit cooperation, such as making eye contact and displaying empathy, are reviewed. Part 1 of the series Conflict Management in Health Care. (20 minutes)

Credo Reference: Video Search

Library Catalog

Data & Statistics

Datasets are the raw pieces of information that are collected through surveys and other research tools and analyzed through statistics. Researchers publish statistics from individual studies in academic journal articles, but comprehensive statistics are also collected by non-profit research groups and government agencies at the local, state, national, and international level and published on the web for the public. Why are data and statistics important? Collected statistics can describe a population/problem and show why its important.

United States Census Data
Provides access to many kinds of demographic data about peoples in the United States, Puerto Rico, and other U.S. territories.
National Center for Health Statistics
Compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of U.S. citizens.
World DataBank (World Bank data)
Contains data for countries and country groups covering financial, business, health, economic and human development statistics.

Suggested Books

Interactive Conflict Resolution by Ronald J. Fisher
Call Number: JX 4475 .F57 1997

ISBN: 0815627149

Publication Date: 1996-12-01

Interactive conflict resolution is a method by which skilled and impartial parties - through facilitated dialogue and focused analysis - bring together unofficial representatives of groups or nations engaged in protracted and violent conflict. This book both describes and assesses this method.
Contemporary Leadership Behavior by Eleanor C. Hein; M. Jean Nicholson
Call Number: RT 89 .C67 1982

ISBN: 0316354473

Publication Date: 1982-09-01
Nursing Leadership and Management by Patricia L. Carroll
Call Number: RT 89 .C32 2006

ISBN: 1401827047

Publication Date: 2006-04-04

Nursing Leadership and Management: A Practical Guide provides brief yet wide-ranging content on core leadership and management principles and applications. Written by an experienced leader in the nursing profession, the book addresses the challenges you face today in your interpersonal and therapeutic relationships. Current trends, such as the rise of the nurse entrepreneur and the use of magnet hospitals, are presented in a concise, inexpensive, and easy-to-understand format. Key terms, summary points, review questions, and critical thinking questions help you review and retain information. This compact, self-paced resource covers the same broad content areas as larger texts, but in a more succinct, economical, and logical format.
Managing Conflict Through Communication by Dudley D. Cahn; Ruth Anna Abigail
Call Number: BF 637 .I48 L85 2007

ISBN: 0205458807

Publication Date: 2006-02-27

With a strong theoretical and research base, "Managing Conflict Through Communication" provides the most complete coverage of the study of conflict available on the market. Each chapter builds on the previous to help the reader better understand and deal effectively with conflict. The extensive use of narratives and case studies make the material accessible and interesting. Practical applications of concepts through discussion questions and exercises throughout the book provide a basis for group discussion.
The Contented Achiever by Don Hutson; Chris Crouch; George Lucas
Call Number: BF 637 .S8 H79 2001

ISBN: 0970373635

Publication Date: 2001-05-01
Interpersonal Communication by Dennis Smith; L. Keith Williamson
Call Number: BF 637 .C45 S6 1985

ISBN: 0697042545

Publication Date: 1985-01-01