EM120 Emergency Management and Security Services: Criminal Procedure

Open this book and step into America's court system! With Neubauer and Fradella's best-selling text, you will see for yourself what it is like to be a judge, a prosecutor, a defense attorney, and more. This fascinating and well-researched text gives you a realistic sense of being in the courthouse--you will quickly gain an understanding of what it is like to work in and be a part of the American criminal justice system. This concept of the courthouse "players" makes it easy to understand each person's important role in bringing a case through the court process. Throughout the text, the authors highlight not only the pivotal role of the criminal courts but also the court's importance and impact on society as a whole.

This comprehensive textbook covers court structure, courtroom actors, and the trial and appeal process. In addition, it also covers related areas often not covered, or inadequately covered, in many courts textbooks. These include judicial decision-making, specialized courts, and comparative court systems.

Written by three leaders in the field, this text explores all conventional topics (court structure, courtroom actors, and the trial and appeal process) as well as others seldom covered. The text first reviews the judicial function, the role and purpose of law, sources of law, the various types of law, and the American court system structure and operations, both state and federal. The participants in the system are discussed next, followed by the pre-trial, trial, and post-trial processes. A wealth of pedagogical tools adds valuable related content, ranging from the points of view of court process participants to comparative information to hotly debated topics.

The BEST-SELLING introduction to criminal justice text of all time, Criminal Justice Today 10/e, continues to set the standard with its hallmark features of theme, timeliness, and technology. With new & expanded coverage of anti-terrorism measures, the Virginia Tech shooting, and criminal justice challenges in the wake of Hurricane Katrina, the 10th edition of Criminal Justice Today offers comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of criminal justice issues pertinent to the world today.

Master the ins and outs of the criminal justice system with ESSENTIALS OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE, Eighth Edition. With its cutting-edge high-profile cases, current research, detailed career information, and unique myth-busting theme, this bestseller equips you with a solid understanding of the modern criminal justice system.

A comprehensive resource that addresses the ethical implications of decision-making in the criminal justice field, including the police, court, and corrections systems.

Available for convenient bundling with any Wadsworth Criminal Law text or for purchase as a stand-alone item, this state-specific guide assists students in their exploration of California laws and cases and features chapter introductions, overviews of codes and implications, and exercises for California-specific penal codes.

An Introduction to Criminal Law walks readers through a chronological and simplistic (yet detailed) dissection of the legal labyrinth. The principles of criminal law are explained step-by-step with a focus on the professional applications of legal principles within the criminal justice system. Recent evolving legislation pertaining to terrorism, organized crime, and white-collar crime are addressed. Written in an engaging conversational tone, this resource is ideal for undergraduate criminal law courses.

CALIFORNIA CRIMINAL CODES has been updated to reflect all of the recent changes to the California Penal Code. CALIFORNIA CRIMINAL CODES is designed to be the core textbook for the traditional one-semester course or the new two-semester course. Part I introduces the student to concepts of modern criminal law. Part II explores substantive law. All aspects of criminal law are thoroughly covered in a comprehensive yet reader-friendly style. Cases and practicum are used throughout to cement and clarify the intent and interpretation of modern law. The reader acquires a comprehensive knowledge of California criminal law, while at the same time gaining and understanding and appreciation for this very complex component of our criminal justice system.

Offering a comprehensive analysis, bestselling COMPARATIVE CRIMINAL JUSTICE SYSTEMS, 5e compares the various criminal justice systems throughout the world using six model countries: China, England, France, Germany, Japan, and Saudi Arabia. The book illustrates the different types of law and justice systems while exploring the historical, political, economic, social, and cultural influences on each system. It examines important aspects of each type of justice system--common law, civil law, socialist law, and sacred (Islamic) law--to highlight the similarities and differences of each. Completely up to date, it provides expanded coverage of such high-profile topics as human trafficking, Internet pornography, identity theft, transnational policing, terrorism and more.

"Criminal Justice: An Introduction" offers a current, lively and thorough introduction to criminal justice. Students are easily drawn to the intriguing field with coverage of past developments, contemporary issues, and tomorrow's challenges. This edition offers new material on diversity in the Criminal Justice System and allows your students to understand the system from the perspective of women and minorities. Manageable in terms of size and price, "Criminal Justice: An Introduction" offers a concise and affordable alternative to encyclopedic texts and more coverage than brief texts.

Criminal justice students and practitioners in criminal justice agencies know firsthand the value of effective management; they understand the vital need to develop organizations that meet the expectations of their community members as well as those of their workers. With an innovative,student-friendly approach, Criminal Justice Management: Theory and Practice in Justice-Centered Organizations examines the complex subject of justice-centered agencies.Authors Mary K. Stohr and Peter A. Collins interweave their comprehensive research with humor and personal anecdotes to make the study of criminal justice management accessible--and interesting--to students. Chapter exercises and study questions provide a springboard for lively class discussion,encouraging students to discover relevant applications for these provocative topics. Through its dedicated pedagogy, this text challenges readers to:* Initiate human relations management practices* Provide support for the professional development of staff* Use proactive, collaborative, and shared responsibility forms of leadership* Develop and maintain strong ethical practices* Implement evidence-based best practices in agency programming* Build strong bridges within an engaged and informed communityWith an emphasis on putting theory into practice, Criminal Justice Management is an invaluable resource for the development of efficient, dynamic, and resourceful justice-centered agencies.

The BEST-SELLING introduction to criminal justice text of all time, Criminal Justice Today 10/e, continues to set the standard with its hallmark features of theme, timeliness, and technology. With new & expanded coverage of anti-terrorism measures, the Virginia Tech shooting, and criminal justice challenges in the wake of Hurricane Katrina, the 10th edition of Criminal Justice Today offers comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of criminal justice issues pertinent to the world today.

This thoroughly revised and updated Second Edition provides a clear and concise introduction to the American criminal justice system in an engaging and accessible format. It examines the people and processes that make up the system and how they interact. It also covers the historic context of the criminal justice system so that students will understand how and why we developed the system that is in place today. Updated throughout, the authors include thematic boxes to pique students' interest with current and relevant topics that were drawn from today's news, court cases that range from those that established the fundamentals of the due process to those that are provocative and controversial, and from personal commentaries by those who work in the criminal justice system. This Second Edition provides contemporary data and updated case studies and references for all topics, and will help your students understand the relationships between the police, the courts, and corrections.Criminal Justice: The Essentials, Second Edition will provide your undergraduate students a framework for thinking about crime and justice, aid them in becoming familiar with the terminology of the criminal justice system, and ulimately help them understand how and why the American criminal justice system works as it does.Instructors resources will include Microsoft PowerPoint lecture slides, test bank, and an instructor's manual with lecture outlines and discussion questions. There will also be a companion website packed with a rich variety of interactive study tools for students.

The criminal justice system is a key social institution pertinent to the lives of citizens everywhere. Fundamentals of Criminal Justice: A Sociological View, Second Edition provides a unique social context to explore and explain the nature, impact, and significance of the criminal justice system in everyday life. This introductory text examines important sociological issues including class, race, and gender inequality, social control, and organizational structure and function.

Comprehensive introduction to criminal justice text explores the traditional topics in criminal justice. Explicitly addresses the needs of the entry level criminal justice professional, including police, probation and parole officers; prison caseworkers; legal assistants; forensic technicians, and others. The authors process approach demonstrates the legal and practical linkages between agencies within criminal justice, the difficulties inherent in them, and the manner in which they affect the typical practitioner and the policy making process. Causes of criminality, and the distribution thereof, are reviewed early in the text and then linked throughout the text to the issues faced by criminal justice practitioners and policy makers. Integrated ethical coverage includes a focus on the basic premises of criminal justice and the ethical contradictions between them, Ethics on the Line scenarios in each chapter, and a closing chapter on ethics in criminal justice.

Ballistic Imaging assesses the state of computer-based imaging technology in forensic firearms identification. The book evaluates the current law enforcement database of images of crime-related cartridge cases and bullets and recommends ways to improve the usefulness of the technology for suggesting leads in criminal investigations. It also advises against the construction of a national reference database that would include images from test-fires of every newly manufactured or imported firearm in the United States. The book also suggests further research on an alternate method for generating an investigative lead to the location where a gun was first sold: "microstamping," the direct imprinting of unique identifiers on firearm parts or ammunition.

This volume offers a comprehensive file on the scientific investigation of crime. It includes the scene of crime (how evidence is taken and the investigation begun), genetic fingerprinting, ballistics (how bullets are matched to firearms), and "personality profiling". This description may be from another edition of this product.

Save time, save money, and eliminate the trek to the library and long waits for reserved readings with InfoTrac® College Edition, an online university library of more than 5,000 academic and popular magazines, newspapers, and journals. This edition of InfoTrac focuses on Forensics and Criminal Investigation. These articles provide a perfect supplement to our Criminal Justice texts.

PRAISE FOR The Casebook of Forensic Detection ""Pithy, concise, and remarkably accurate."" -Science Books & Films ""Contains ample material to hold the attention and foster interest in science."" -Science Teacher ""A mystery novelist's essential resource guide."" -Book News, Inc. ""Even the most dedicated devotee of the genre will find much that is new in these brief but exciting accounts."" -Publishers Weekly

This text covers major areas of police operations including patrol, investigations, crime mapping, police operations in culturally diverse communities, community policing, persons with physical disabilities, and juveniles, hot pursuit issues, communications, gangs, and drugs. 

The science of forensices has evolved into a well established, indispensable crime solving tool--and yet there have been times when forensic techniques have failed to completely resolve certain trial. Whether shoddy lab work or faulty evidence collection is to blame, these perplexing and fascinating cases have long been the subjects of heated discussion and no small amount of disagreement. From the still contested death of Napoleon Bonaparte to the never ending speculation that surrounds John F. Kennedy's assassination. A Question of Evidence takes a probing look at fifteen of the most contentious cases in history.

"Bones have an uncanny knack of holding important clues as to the fate of the individuals to whom they belonged." As portrayed in mystery novels and more than nine television shows including CSI: Crime Scene Investigation, American Justice and City Confidential, forensic anthropologists work in an environment where the stakes are high, the pressure is intense, and their findings are vital in criminal investigations. It's a fascinating and often dramatic world. Go behind the scenes with forensic anthropologists and learn about their techniques, how they locate a body, how they carefully uncover evidence, and how the unique characteristics of each body bears silent witness to age, sex, cause of death and clues as to who or what was responsible. With 29 real-life case studies and more than 350 color photographs and illustrations, Silent Witness is a fascinating read for anyone interested in the world of forensics.

Comprehensive and balanced, THE COLOR OF JUSTICE is the definitive book on current research and theories of racial and ethnic discrimination within America's Criminal Justice system. The best and the most recent research on patterns of criminal behavior and victimization, police practices, court processing and sentencing, the death penalty, and correctional programs are covered giving students the facts and theoretical foundation they need to make their own informed decisions about discrimination in the system. Uniquely unbiased, THE COLOR OF JUSTICE makes every effort to incorporate discussion of all major race groups found in the United States

The United States Commission on Civil Rights examined the legal foundation of prisoners’ religious exercise rights, and the rules and guidelines related to religion in federal and state prisons and jails. It also researched the mechanisms federal and state prisons and jails use to facilitate religious requests (where feasible), and to record and process prisoner grievances related to religious exercise. Finally, the Commission reviewed 250 reported RLUIPA cases initiated from 2001–2006, examining trends by religion, judicial circuit, type of accommodation requested, and other factors.

Recommendations -- The bail process -- Who suffers? Bail and detention of low income defendants -- Factors influencing judges' bail decisions -- An alternative to pretrial detention : pretrial supervision -- Applicable constitutional and human rights law -- Acknowledgments.

One of the goals of Proposition 36 was to divert nonviolent defendants, probationers, and parolees from incarceration into community-based substance abuse treatment programs.