Best-selling resource of profound quotes highlighting Amercia's noble heritage. Nearly .250,000 in print! Contains quotes form Presidents, Statesment, Acts of Congress, Supreme Court Decisions, State Constitutions, Colonial Charters, Scientists, Explorers, Pioneers, Business leaders, Military leaders, African-American leaders, Women leaders...Topics include character, virtue, law, freedom, faith, courage, liberty, Providence, God, government, etc. Easy to use, alphabetically arranged, fully footnoted, with subject and entry index. A favorite of politicians, teachers, students speech writers, radio hosts, etc. No American library is complete without it!
While recent years have seen a flood of literature on the Bill of Rights, this collection of essays, all by highly regarded constitutional scholars, is the first to offer a comprehensive amendment-by-amendment, clause-by-clause account of the Bill's recent sweeping transmutation.
The book confirms the suspicions of critics of judicial activism, suggesting that the provisions of the Bill of Rights have been subjected to much greater interpretive revision by the Supreme Court than other parts of the Constitution.
Cokie Roberts's number one New York Times bestseller, We Are Our Mothers' Daughters, examined the nature of women's roles throughout history and led USA Today to praise her as a "custodian of time-honored values." Her second bestseller, From This Day Forward, written with her husband, Steve Roberts, described American marriages throughout history, including the romance of John and Abigail Adams. Now Roberts returns with Founding Mothers, an intimate and illuminating look at the fervently patriotic and passionate women whose tireless pursuits on behalf of their families -- and their country -- proved just as crucial to the forging of a new nation as the rebellion that established it. While much has been written about the men who signed the Declaration of Independence, battled the British, and framed the Constitution, the wives, mothers, sisters, and daughters they left behind have been little noticed by history. Roberts brings us the women who fought the Revolution as valiantly as the men, often defending their very doorsteps. While the men went off to war or to Congress, the women managed their businesses, raised their children, provided them with political advice, and made it possible for the men to do what they did. The behind-the-scenes influence of these women -- and their sometimes very public activities -- was intelligent and pervasive. Drawing upon personal correspondence, private journals, and even favored recipes, Roberts reveals the often surprising stories of these fascinating women, bringing to life the everyday trials and extraordinary triumphs of individuals like Abigail Adams, Mercy Otis Warren, Deborah Read Franklin, Eliza Pinckney, Catherine Littlefield Green, Esther DeBerdt Reed, and Martha Washington -- proving that without our exemplary women, the new country might never have survived. Social history at its best, Founding Mothers unveils the drive, determination, creative insight, and passion of the other patriots, the women who raised our nation. Roberts proves beyond a doubt that like every generation of American women that has followed, the founding mothers used the unique gifts of their gender -- courage, pluck, sadness, joy, energy, grace, sensitivity, and humor -- to do what women do best, put one foot in front of the other in remarkable circumstances and carry on.
A classic in American constitutional history, Max Farrand's famous account of the Federal Convention presents a vivid analysis of the conditions, the convictions, and the men who framed the Constitution of the United States. This basic work clarifies the intentions of the Founding Fathers and sheds light on the many issues of 1787 that are of vital importance today.
This pocket guide was written to educate America's citizens on the documents that celebrate the highest achievements of America's founding and political tradition. This recently revised and expanded edition includes a new useful quotations section.
List of Maps and Charts--PART ONE: Global Essay: The Creation of a New America--Chapter One Old World, New Worlds (Prehistory-1600)--Chapter Two The First Century of Settlement in the Colonial South (1600-1750)--Chapter Three The First Century of Settlement in the Colonial North (1600-1700)--Chapter Four The Mosaic of Eighteenth-Century America (1689-1771)-- Part Two Global Essay: The creation of a New Republic: Chapter Five Toward the War for American Independence (1754-1776)--Chapter Six The American People and the American Revolution (1775-1783)--Chapter Seven Crisis and Constitution (1776-1789)--Chapter Eight The Republic Launches (1789-1801)--Chapter Nine The Jeffersonian Republic (1801-1824)--PART THREE Global Essay: The Republic Transformed and Tested--Chapter Ten The Opening of America (1815-1850)--Chapter Eleven the Rise of Democracy (1824-1840)--Chapter Twelve The Fires of Perfection (1820-1850)--Chapter Thirteen The Old South (1820-1860)--Chapter Fourteen Western Expansion and the Rise of the Slavery Issue (1820-1850)--Chapter Fifteen The Union Broken (1850-1861)--Chapter Sixteen Total War and the Republic (1861-1865)--Chapter Seventeen Reconstructing the Union (1865-1877)--Appendix A-1--The Declaration of Independence A-1--The Constitution of the United States of America A-4--Justices of the Supreme Court--Presidential Elections--A Social Profile of the American Republic--Bibliography--Credits C-1--Index I-1
Our Documents is a collection of 100 documents that the staff of the National Archives has judged most important to the development of the United States. The entry for each document includes a short introduction, a facsimile, and a transcript of the document. Backmatter includes furtherreading, credits, and index. The book is part of the much larger Our Documents initiative sponsored by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), National History Day, the Corporation for National and Community Service, and the USA Freedom Corps.
In The U.S. Constitution & Fascinating Facts About It youll see the entire text of the Constitution, the Bill of Rights and the Declaration of Independence -- and much more Youll find interesting insights into the men who wrote the Constitution, how it was created, and how the Supreme Court has interpreted the Constitution in the two centuries since its creation.
Fantastic book about US History, covering pre-history (before 1600) all the way through the turn of the millennium. Comprehensive, easy to understand and read. Grade level 11-12.
Eric Burns hosts Fox News Watch and is a former NBC News correspondent.
The Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to organize its books. Most of the Library's Constitution related books are located under the call number "J" for Political Science and the call number "K" for Law. You will find additional Constitution-related books under other call numbers, as well.
| E 158 | Holidays--United States |
| E 303 | Constitution Day and Citizenship Day (US) |
| JA 84 .U6 | Political Science--United States--History--18th Century |
| JK 21 | Constitution (US) |
| JK 54 | United States--Politics and Government--To 1775--Sources |
| JK 54 | United States--Politics and Government--1775-1783--Sources |
| JK 54 | United States--Politics and Government--1783-1809--Sources |
| JK 1761 | Citizenship Day (US); Constitution Day (US); Constitution Week (US) |
| KF 4510 | United States Constitution Convention (1787) |
You can browse the shelves with these or you can look for books and DVD's on the Library Catalog, using these call numbers or subject keywords.