Biology in Credo: Books

From mass extinction to immunity, and from sociobiology to swarm behaviour, this book will open you eyes to the fundamental biological processes that are essential to all life on earth, beginning with innovations unique to animals - such as the development of muscles and importance of circulation - and moving through to genetics, cells, tissues and, finally, the nature of groups of organisms.

This authoritative A-to-Z resource covers classical morphological and cytological terms along with those from modern genetics and molecular biology. Extensively cross-referenced, the Dictionary includes definitions of terms, explanations of concepts, and biographies of historical figures. Comparative aspects are described in order to provide a sense of the evolution of structures.

Covers the whole field of pure and applied microbiology and microbial molecular biology.

Fully revised and updated to include the latest developments in the field, this dictionary offers clear explanations of biological concepts and processes, and the broadest coverage of the subject, from ecology to immunology and cytology.

4th Edition. Gathers both basic and applied dimensions in this dynamic field that includes virtually all environments on Earth.

Authoritative yet accessible, catalogs everything from aardvarks to zebras with special focus on the superlatives that appeal to children: biggest, fastest, strongest, and strangest. Stunning action photography puts our animal neighbors in context and shows them in their natural habitats, interacting with other animals and taking part in amazing migrations, feeding frenzies, and more.

Presents the traveler and naturalist with a portable, authoritative guide to the flora and fauna of earth's northernmost region. Detailed species accounts describe key identification features, size, habitat, range, scientific name, and the unique characteristics that enable these organisms to survive in the extreme conditions of the Far North.

Provides an engaging introduction to the roughly 4,000 different bee species found in the United States and Canada, dispelling common myths about bees while offering essential tips for telling them apart in the field.

A bestseller for over seventy years, this is an essential reference tool for all with a professional or leisure interest in the care of animals.

This innovative and carefully designed photographic guide provides a concise introduction to the identification of the 246 birds most likely to be seen in Great Britain and Ireland.

The first comprehensive guide to North American bumble bees to be published in more than a century. Richly illustrated with color photographs, diagrams, range maps, and graphs of seasonal activity patterns, this guide allows amateur and professional naturalists to identify all 46 bumble bee species found north of Mexico and to understand their ecology and changing geographic distributions.

Provides an extensive overview of 300 of the world's most important forest trees. Tropical, subtropical, temperate and boreal trees of major economic importance are included, covering tree species used in agroforestry practices around the world.

From feathers and flock formation to imprinting and incubating, this text provides a comprehensive, richly illustrated guide to understanding how chickens live, think, and act both alongside people and independently.

Unique English language dictionary of paleontological terms, taxa, localities, and concepts focuses on the most common orders, genera, and species, paying careful attention to overall historical significance in terms of turning points such as mass extinctions.

An illustrated record book of sauropod facts and figures - the hugest, the oldest, the most intelligent, and more.

An illustrated record book of theropod facts and figures - from the biggest to the fastest to the smartest.

Covers all aspects of insect anatomy, physiology, evolution, behavior, reproduction, ecology, and disease, as well as issues of exploitation, conservation, and management, this book sets the standard in entomology.

The oceans cover 70% of the Earth's surface, and are critical components of Earth's climate system. This new edition summarizes the breadth of knowledge about them, providing revised, up to date entries as well coverage of new topics in the field.

Focuses on the Adriatic Sea and includes articles on the hydrographic and geographic objects, hydrological features and biological resources, the administrative-territorial units of the Adriatic countries, economy, culture and history, cities, ports, international agreements, research institutions and the activities of outstanding scientists, researchers, and travelers.

Designed to accumulate and systematize our knowledge about the unique natural water areas - the Barents, White and Kara seas, their wealth, the events that took place on its waters and shores, and the remarkable people whose lives were and are closely intertwined with the seas.

Comprehensive, multi-author treatise on the social insects of the world, with some auxiliary attention to such adjacent topics as subsocial insects and social arachnids.

There are more than 33,000 species of living fishes, accounting for more than half of the extant vertebrate diversity on Earth. This unique and comprehensive reference showcases the basic anatomy and diversity of all 82 orders of fishes and more than 150 of the most commonly encountered families, focusing on their distinctive features.

Beginning with the science underpinning food fermentations, the author looks at the relevant aspects of microbiology and microbial physiology before covering individual foodstuffs and the role of fermentation in their production, as well as the possibilities that exist for fermentation's future development and application.

Provides students with a structure for thinking about and understanding infective agents and their interactions with wildlife. Each chapter includes an outline, select definitions and concepts, an overview and summary, and literature cited.

Fungipedia presents a delightful A--Z treasury of mushroom lore.

2nd edition, the most comprehensive guide to the common insects, mites, and other "bugs" found in the backyards and gardens of the United States and Canada.

Includes detailed information on the identification, characteristics, threats and distribution for each of the species within this family of rays.

An authoritative and richly illustrated guide to the many facets of the world's oceans and seas. The first five sections describe the genesis and evolution of the oceans, the history of exploration, leisure on the oceans, sealife, and ocean resources. The Atlas section maps the ocean basins, their circulation patterns and unique features. An Encyclopedia of Marine Life catalogues the main groups of flora and fauna.

Provides basic information on harmful algal blooms (HAB) and references for individuals in need of technical information when faced with unexpected or unknown harmful algal events.

A comprehensive, richly illustrated introduction to the fascinating natural history of the horse, from prehistory to the present.

4th edition; this bestselling book continues to provide a comprehensive description of the anatomy and physiology of dogs and cats. The book builds on these foundations with detailed descriptions of exotic small species including birds, and domestic farm animals, including cows, sheep and pigs, as well as the horse.

During the last decades there has been an increasing evidence of drastic changes in marine ecosystems due to human-induced impacts, especially on benthic ecosystems. The so called 'animal forests' are currently showing a dramatic loss of biomass and biodiversity all over the world.

The most comprehensive and authoritative reference book of its kind, this text provides coverage of a huge range of topics, from shipbuilding, yachting, diving, marine engineering, and marine mammals, to smuggling, tsunamis, mermaids, and the language and literature of the sea.

An updated and comprehensive guide identifying all of the world's sharks.

The most comprehensive and accessible reference book on mammals available. Unsurpassed in scope and stunningly illustrated, this book covers every known living species, from aardvarks to zorros.

This field guide covers every species of the world's canids, from the Gray Wolf of North America to the dholes of Asia, from African jackals to the South American Bush Dog.

Explores the principal areas and issues of this core discipline in hundreds of entries, essays, photographs, and line illustrations. This comprehensive encyclopedia brings together information on marine science from its component and affiliate sciences, along with information on technology, commerce, business, society, history, and more.

Revised 2nd edition of a groundbreaking photographic field guide to the butterflies of Mexico and Central America. Written by Jeffrey Glassberg, the pioneering authority on the field identification of butterflies, the guide covers more than 2,000 species.

Revised 2nd edition of the most detailed, comprehensive, and user-friendly photographic field guide to the butterflies of North America. Written by Jeffrey Glassberg, the pioneering authority on the field identification of butterflies, the guide covers all known species.

This Visual Guide answers the most important questions on plants through a series of videos and animations. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in this area.

A favorite guide to the natural world for general readers and professionals alike, this text incorporates a full account of every genus that has lived in the past 5,000 years. Every named species of each genus is listed in systematic order and accompanied by detailed descriptions of past and present range.

3rd Edition; profiles women who fought against stereotypes throughout history and all over the world to forge new discoveries and theories that would eventually change the way we view science.

Provides entries on the scientists who have greatly impacted society and the scientific community. Each entry covers the scientist's background, including details about the individual's professional career and accomplishments within the scientific world. Further reading lists enhance each entry.

Provides an authoritative and accessible look at the lives of the men and women who have shaped science.

Introduces readers to some of the most remarkable scientists, mathematicians, authors, and world leaders of all time - individuals who are well worth knowing on a personal and professional level.

Completely revised and updated 2nd edition. With over 4,500 A-Z entries, 450 full-color photographs and drawings, over 150 fascinating feature notes, and full-page tables and charts, it is the most current and comprehensive student science dictionary available.

Written in an easily accessible style, this unrivaled study aid and reference tool is specifically designed to support those taking computer courses or courses where computers are used, including GCSE, A-Level, ECDL and 14-19 Diplomas in Functional Skills in schools and further education colleges.

Ingeniously organized and eminently browsable, this richly visual volume is divided into six big sections--medicine, transportation, communication, biology, chemistry, and the environment. This remarkable depiction of history tells the story of every Big Idea in our history, seen through the lens of where science is taking us today--and tomorrow.

Provides an in-depth look at the history, methodologies, processes, applications, and future growth potential of several sectors of the biotech industry.

Provides an effective way to quickly learn about any aspect of genetics, from Abortive Transduction to Zygotes.

An essential reference companion for anyone with an interest in energy, including scientists, consultants, journalists, economists, educators, students and policy-makers.

Captures current thinking about the workings of the mind and brain, focusing on problems that are as old as recorded history, but reflecting new approaches and techniques that have emerged since the 1980s.

A curated set of educational videos covering topics of importance in Science.

Applies critical scrutiny to a prominent set of new but widely used terms, in order to clarify their meanings and improve the basis on which we identify and tackle the worlds water challenges.

Aims to broaden and define the conceptual framework of disability studies for readers and practitioners in the field and beyond. The volume engages some of the most pressing debates of our time, such as prenatal testing, euthanasia, accessibility in public transportation and the workplace, post-traumatic stress, and questions about the beginning and end of life.

National Geographic answers all the questions about how things work--the science, technology, biology, chemistry, physics, and mechanics--in an indispensible book that reveals the science behind virtually everything.

Tour the mind-blowing but beautiful realm of numbers and the mathematical rules that connect them. Take a crash course on the biggest unsolved problems that keep mathematicians up at night, find out about the strange and unexpected ways mathematics influences our everyday lives, and discover the incredible connection between numbers and reality itself.

A fourth, meticulously updated and revised edition of this comprehensive and renowned work. Covers all the important topics in this key subject area including chemistry, physics, molecular biology, genetics, biochemistry, human anatomy, mathematics, astronomy and computing. Superbly comprehensive and accessible, this newly updated dictionary is the ideal reference tool for anyone who needs to understand scientific terms, whether student, researcher or enthusiastic layperson.

Gives concise, accurate and illuminating accounts of key positions, concepts, arguments and figures in the philosophy of science.

A concise, authoritative reference to ecology's major subjects and key concepts.

Covering everything from the Big Bang to global warming, this accessible and easy-to-use introduction to the scientific world, covers what science has achieved over the past few hundred years and what it promises for the future.

This Visual Guide answers the most important questions on the universe through a series of videos and animations. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in this area.

An engaging guide to the world of chemistry. From the molecules that kick-started life itself to nanotechnology, chemistry offers some fascinating insights into our origins, as well as continuing to revolutionize life as we know it.

A compilation of technical data and descriptive information covering thousands of chemicals and chemical phenomena, trade name products, processes, reactions, products, and related terminology. Provides concise, condensed, and prompt definitions of terms and phenomena in chemistry, biology, biochemistry, and more. Is ideal for those with only minutes to devote to any given chemical substance or topic.

The definitive reference to this vast subject area. Hundreds of chemistry-related entries, thought-provoking essays, leading discoveries, and biographies of notable chemists throughout history provide academic and early college students with the most complete information available.

A complete guide to the one organ in the body that makes each of us what we are - unique individuals.

A single source for information on the human brain covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science.

Revealing and detailing all aspects of the body, from the secrets of DNA to the functions of every major body system, this all-in-one encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information that is ideal for students, health professionals, or anyone who wants to learn more about the human body.

Answers the most important questions on the human body through a series of videos and animations. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in this area.

In this masterwork, Russell H. Tuttle synthesizes a vast research literature in primate evolution and behavior to explain how apes and humans evolved in relation to one another, and why humans became a bipedal, tool-making, culture-inventing species distinct from other hominoids. This encyclopedic volume is both a milestone in primatological research and a critique of what is known and yet to be discovered about human and ape potential.

Packed with descriptions of terms, specimens, sites and names, covers a broad range of subjects within human biology, physical anthropology, anatomy, auxology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology, and zoology.

This volume is a comprehensive reference work on the life, labors, and influence of the great evolutionist Charles Darwin. The wealth of information it provides about the history of evolutionary thought makes it a crucial resource for understanding the controversies that surround evolution today.

Contains hundreds of entries that span modern evolutionary science and the history of its development. This comprehensive volume clarifies many common misconceptions about evolution, including whether the process of evolution has been observed; biological evidence from DNA; and whether any “missing links” have been found.

A comprehensive, concise, and authoritative reference to the major subjects and key concepts in evolutionary biology, from genes to mass extinctions.