Quantitative Data Research: Text Data

HathiTrust Research Center (HTRC) enables computational analysis of works in the HathiTrust Digital Library (HTDL) to facilitate non-profit research and educational uses of the collection. HTRC creates and maintains a suite of tools and services for text-based, data-driven research, such as HTRC Algorithms and Data Capsule, and engages in cutting-edge research on large-scale data analysis. HTRC operates under a non-consumptive research paradigm: HTRC makes available the collection for computational analysis, while remaining clearly within the bounds of the fair use rights courts have recognized as applying to text analysis. The Center is committed to breaking new ground in the areas of non-consumptive text mining, allowing scholars to fully utilize content of the HathiTrust Digital Library.

Data for Research is a free service for researchers wishing to analyze content on JSTOR through a variety of lenses and perspectives. If you require more than 1,000 documents or a type of data not available through the interactive portion of the site, please contact us at: support@ithaka.org

JSTOR and Portico are building a text and data mining (TDM() platform aimed at teaching and enabling a generation of researchers to text mine. The platform includes a user interface to allow researchers, students, and instructors to curate, visualize, and save custom datasets. Researchers may download the extracted features of their curated datasets. Extracted features are a non-consumptive “bag-of-words” where each article or book chapter in the custom dataset is represented with bibliographic metadata, the unique set of words on each page, and the number of times the word occurs on the page. The dataset includes journals, books, and newspapers from JSTOR , Portico, and Chronicling America

@unitedstates is a shared commons of data and tools for the United States. Made by the public, used by the public. Featuring work from people with the Sunlight Foundation, GovTrack.us, the New York Times, the Electronic Frontier Foundation, and the Internet

One of the most comprehensive collection of web resources on the American presidency, including documents, public papers, executive orders, addresses, press conferences, debates, election data, approval ratings, much more. Data topics include Relations with Congress / Popularity / Public Appearances / Growth of the Executive Branch / Presidential Selection / State of the Union and Inaugural Address Charts / Presidential Disability

API access to Cornell's open-access arXiv e-print repository, used primarily by physics, mathematics and computer science communities to share cutting-edge research.

An awesome list of high-quality open datasets (HQOD) in public domains (on-going).

A complete collection of published United States caselaw from 1640 to 2017 from Harvard Law School.

API access to information about American english language historic (pre-1923) newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages from the Library of Congress.

This page provides links to a dataset of movie plot summaries and associated metadata. This data was collected by David Bamman, Brendan O'Connor, and Noah Smith at the Language Technologies Institute and Machine Learning Department at Carnegie Mellon University.

Open repository of web crawl data that can be accessed and analyzed by anyone.

Since 2006, the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) has harvested Congressional web sites at the end of each Congress. They also did a wider harvest of federal websites for the 2004 Presidential transition.

From the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

the largest freely-available corpus of English, and the only large and balanced corpus of American English.

Reuters-21578 (and Reuters-22173): The most widely used text categorization test collection.

Congressional Bills; Bill Status; Bill Summaries; Commerce Business Daily; Code of Federal Regulations (Annual Edition); Electronic Code of Federal Regulations; Federal Register; United States Government Manual; House Rules and Manual; Privacy Act Issuances; Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States; Supreme Court Decisions 1937-1975 (FLITE)

Monitors the world's broadcast, print, and web news from nearly every corner of every country in over 100 languages and identifies the people, locations, organizations, counts, themes, sources, emotions, counts, quotes, images and events driving our global society every second of every day, creating a free open platform for computing on the entire world. Download data on country-level newsworthy events back to 1979, updated every 15 minutes.

Download 440 million words of full-text data for COCA, or 1.8 billion words for GloWbE. With this data, you will have the corpora on your computer, rather than having to use the web interface. The data comes in three formats: tables for relational databases, word/lemma/PoS (vertical format), or text (linear format).

Page-level features from 4.8 million public domain volumes. The dataset includes over 734 billion words, dozens of languages, and spans multiple centuries. Features include the token (unigram) count and header and footer identification, on a per-page basis, as well as volume-level metadata and much more.

Free online database that archives films and film criticism.

Data for Research is a free service for researchers wishing to analyze content on JSTOR through a variety of lenses and perspectives. If you require more than 1,000 documents or a type of data not available through the interactive portion of the site, please contact us at: support@ithaka.org

OSoMe (awe•some) is an API and set of tools created as a broad research project aimed to study information diffusion in social media.

Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published.

Movie subtitles

Patents (grants, published applications, assignments, classification information, and maintenance fee events)
Trademarks (registrations, applications, assignments, and TTAB proceedings)
All data originated from the USPTO. Google is hosting this data unchanged, except for repackaging into zip files.

Project Gutenberg offers over 50,000 free ebooks. Note from Terms of Use: This website is intended for human users only. Any perceived use of automated tools to access this website will result in a temporary or permanent block of your IP address with a few exceptions

Bulk downloadable content harvested from government web sites and other sources

Project from Yale based on Vogue Archive (ProQuest)

Stanford Network Analysis Platform (SNAP) is a general purpose network analysis and graph mining library.

The Text Creation Partnership creates standardized, accurate XML/SGML encoded electronic text editions of early print books. We transcribe and mark up the text from the millions of page images in ProQuest's Early English Books Online, Gale Cengage's Eighteenth Century Collections Online, and Readex's Evans Early American Imprints.

The University of Oxford Text Archive develops, collects, catalogues and preserves electronic literary and linguistic resources for use in Higher Education, in research, teaching and learning. The OTA also gives advice on the creation and use of these resources, and is involved in the development of standards and infrastructure for electronic language resources.

tagged literary texts. The WordHoard project is named after an Old English phrase for the verbal treasure 'unlocked' by a wise speaker. It applies to highly canonical literary texts the insights and techniques of corpus linguistics, that is to say, the empirical and computer-assisted study of large bodies of written texts or transcribed speech. In the WordHoard environment, such texts are annotated or tagged by morphological, lexical, prosodic, and narratological criteria. They are mediated through a 'digital page' or user interface that lets scholarly but non-technical users explore the greatly increased query potential of textual data kept in such a form.

A reference library of interesting and scientifically useful datasets for non-commercial use by academics and other scientists.