Quantitative Data Research: APIs-Scholarly Resources

The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant.

Free programmatic access to stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, foreign exchange rates, financial reports from SEC filings, and over 50 derived technical indicators. Free API key allows up to 500 API calls per day by default. More information: (1) introduction to stock APIs, (2) official API documentation

API access to Cornell's open-access arXiv e-print repository, used primarily by physics, mathematics and computer science communities to share cutting-edge research.

A variety of access points to BioMed Central's corpus of 150,000 peer-reviewed articles, including a guide to text-mining the collection.

A complete collection of published United States caselaw from 1640 to 2017 from Harvard Law School.

API access to information about American english language historic (pre-1923) newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages from the Library of Congress.

​Provides open access web crawl data. Dataset contains 2PB of data and over 1.95 billion webpages.

CORE The world’s largest collection of open access research papers. The API provides real-time machine access to metadata and full texts of research papers in CORE.

Crossref is a not-for-profit membership organization for scholarly publishing who works to make content easy to find, cite, link, and assess. The Crossref API allows researchers to easily harvest full-text documents from all participating members, regardless of whether the content is open access or subscription. Explanatory slides

Access data from the DPLA repostiory of cultural and scientific knowledge, including partner data from Harvard, NY Public Library, ARTstor, the David Rumsey Historical Map collection and more. Zipped json files of partner data and the entire repository are available for bulk download. ​

https://dev.elsevier.com/sc_apis.html

Europeana APIs allow users to build applications that drawn from the collections of major museums and galleries across Europe.

A RESTful Web Service giving you access to all of the publications and related information in the Europe PubMed Central database.

The Google Books Ngram Viewer provides a frontend to explore word counts from the entire corpus of digitized Google books. Google also provides access to the thousands of raw datasets on which the Viewer operates. More information: TED Talk on Google Ngrams.

Harvard LibraryCloud is a metadata hub that provides granular, open access to a large aggregation of Harvard library bibliographic metadata. The public LibraryCloud Item API supports searching LibraryCloud and obtaining results in a normalized MODS or Dublin Core format. LibraryCloud contains records from Harvard's Alma ILS (over 12.7M bib records), JSTORForum (4M image records), and ArchivesSpace finding aids (2M finding aid components). Alma metadata has additionally been enriched with the Stackscore usage metric, as well as holdings, and LC classification subject headings.

Not an API per se, but you can use DFR to select and interact with data and metadata from JSTOR's archive of scholarly journal literature (more than 7 million journal articles) and primary resources (26,000 19th Century British Pamphlets).

Page-level features from 4.8 million public domain volumes. The dataset includes over 734 billion words, dozens of languages, and spans multiple centuries. Features include the token (unigram) count and header and footer identification, on a per-page basis, as well as volume-level metadata and much more.

Explore the many ways the Library of Congress provides machine-readable access to its digital collections.

Microsoft Academic Search indexes millions of academic publications, and displays relationships between and among subjects, content, and authors, highlighting the critical links that help define scientific research. API access by request.

Over 31,000 datasets, 190 code repositories, & 30 APIs.

A directory of medical resource APIs including PubMedCentral, MedlinePlus, AIDSinfo, ClinicalTrials.gov, Drug Interactions, and more

Open, bibliographic search service for content hosted on nature.com, comprising around half a million news and research articles and citations (see also Nature.com Blogs

Set of 8 server-side programs for the Entrez query and database system at the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
Check out the R package, Rentrez, for a wrapper to the NCBI API.

Our APIs (Application Programming Interfaces) allow you to programmatically access New York Times data for use in your own applications. Our goal is to facilitate a wide range of uses, from custom link lists to complex visualizations. Why just read the news when you can hack it?

NYT currently has ten public APIs: Archive, Article Search, Books, Community, Geographic, Most Popular, Semantic, Times Newswire, TimesTags, and Top Stories.

The OECD dataset APIs let you programmatically access a selection of our top used datasets covering data for OECD countries and selected non-member economies. OECD datasets are dynamically updated.

Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published.

Query the ORCID researcher identifier system (including individual researchers, universities, national laboratories, commercial research organizations, research funders, publishers, national science agencies, data repositories, and international professional societies) to obtain researcher profile data.

Query content from the seven open-access peer-reviewed journals from the Public Library of Science using any of the twenty-three terms in the PLOS Search

A github 'awesome' list of curated public datasets on various topics and areas including corpora and social networking data.

"Open source R packages that provide programmatic access to a variety of scientific data, full-text of journal articles, and repositories that provide real-time metrics of scholarly impact."

Provides access to metadata of all items in the PubMed Central (PMC) archive, as well as to the full text of a subset of these items.

Comprehensive information about the usage and reach of articles published by the Public Library of Science (including usage statistics, citation counts, and social networking activity).

Text corpus of American English containing over 22 million words.

Robust set of APIs for metadata, images and articles from this scientific publisher of books and journals, including close to 500 academic and professional society journals.

Access data from the United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics database, including International Merchandise Trade Statistics (IMTS) and the work of the International Merchandise Trade Statistics Section (IMTSS) of the United Nations Statistics Division

Three APIs to provide access to different datasets: one for Indicators (or time series data), one for Projects (or data on the World Bank’s operations), and one for the World Bank financial data (World Bank Finances API).

Worldcat is a combined library catalog for participating libraries around the world. The Identities API provides "personal, corporate and subject-based identities (writers, authors, characters, corporations, horses, ships, etc.) based on information in WorldCat."