Credo Reference helps you build your research vocabulary with dictionaries, glossaries, thesauri, and other reference materials.
Credo Reference helps you prepare for launching, changing, or enhancing your career, with materials on job interviews, office etiquette, and the thought and practice behind organizational behavior.
Safety Standards and Infection Control for Dental Assistants by
Sweeping changes in infection control and disease containment have had a significant impact on dentistry in the past decade. Because dental assistants are more likely to assume responsibility for this area of dental practice, it is necessary that students enrolled in dental assisting programs receive stringent training and education in infection control and environmental health. Infection Control for Dental Assistants addresses the requirements of the national Infection Control Examination (ICE) as set forth by the Dental Assisting National Board (DANB) Task Analysis. The text is separated into five major areas according to their relevance to the dental assistant's role in infectious disease prevention, and contains numerous hands-on procedures and assessment questions designed to help readers track their comprehension and retention of presented material. Infection Control for Dental Assistants will also be helpful as a refresher resource for dental assistants already in private practice and as a chairside reference.
Ethics, Jurisprudence, and Practice Management in Dental Hygiene by
The information and examples in this book are designed to orient dental hygiene students to clinical practice and its many applications in an office setting. Although dentists, dental practices, and dental hygiene can be generalized, each practice will be unique in its daily operations and policies. As you read and participate in the exercises, keep in mind that experiences will be unique. In this new millennium, the art and science of dental hygiene continues to progress and evolve. More states have entered into independent or alternative practice settings for experienced dental hygienists. Upon becoming a registered or licensed dental hygienist, you are encouraged to actively participate in furthering the development of patient education and dental hygiene research as well as your own education. Reach out to communities that are not able to access dental care in a traditional setting and continually stay abreast of the link between periodontal disease and total body health, as patients see the dental hygienist as the oral health care specialist. The knowledge and relationships that build from networking with other professionals will be invaluable. We hope that you find personal and professional satisfaction in your dental hygiene career and as a member of the dental hygiene profession. Thank you to the reviewers of this manuscript: W. Gail Barnes, RDH, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, East Tennessee State University; Chris French Beatty, RDH, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department Chair Texas Woman's University; Barbara Paige, RDH, MS, Ed.D., Professor, Cabrillo College; Angelina E. Riccelli, RDH, MS, Associate Professor and Director, University of Pittsburgh; Donna J. Stach, RDH, M.Ed., Associate Professor, University of Colorado.
The Practical Guide to HIPAA Privacy and Security Compliance by 
Virtual Medical Office for Insurance Handbook for the Medical Office by
Gain realistic experience in a physician's office without leaving the classroom! By using Elsevier's Virtual Medical Office learning system - an Elsevier textbook, a study guide, and interactive software - students will develop critical thinking and decision-making skills they'll need on the job. Each study guide lesson directs the student through the textbook and software and presents exercises offering practice in coding procedures and diagnoses, filing insurance claims, troubleshooting rejected claims, catching common coding errors, evaluating the office's compliance with HIPAA, keeping the policy manual up to date, and much more. These exercises - in combination with a simulated medical practice - bridge the gap between the classroom and the real world. Money-saving package with the textbook is also available. Search ISBN 1-4160-3037-9. 15 unique cases set up specific exercises relating to different payers, different billing situations, and common coding errors. More than two hours of video clips offer comparisons of what is documented to what actually happens. Software matches the computer experience level of billing and coding students. Realistic information resources are shown, such as medical records for each case, an office policy manual, a fee schedule, a daysheet, and more. A study guide: Complements textbook content through lessons that correlate reading assignments with patients in the virtual practice. Promotes active learning as students collect information from a variety of sources to make coding and billing decisions. Contains common coding errors that students must spot and correct, as in real practice. Augments knowledge of HIPPA by directing students to compare the policy manual, the contents of each case's medical record, and what actually happens in the videos. Makes lessons available online, allowing students to complete their assignments and submit them electronically to their instructor.
Dental Office Management by
This comprehensive book takes readers through the various tasks associated with front office dental procedures, preparing them for the office of the 21st century. Five-sections-the business of dentistry, practice communications, clinical records management, business and financial records management, and employment opportunities-are supported by learning objectives, key terms, and key concepts. Skill building for Success Student Activities (role-plays and problem-solving activities) and Skills Mastery Assessment Post-tests are provided at the end of each chapter(Dental Assisting, Dental Assist., office management)
Dental Instruments by
Dental Instruments: A Pocket Guide to Identification is a pocket guide for dental assisting students for quick reference and review of dental instruments, their uses, their placement on a tray, and their different varieties. This pocket guide is used while in clinical courses, during clinical internships, as a review companion to clinical courses, and is a resource for students to take with them to their first job. Unique to this title is the companion student resources CD-ROM in the back of the book, which provides the student with an interactive learning experience. The CD-ROM includes an image bank, interactive tray set-ups, crossword puzzles, student quizzes, and more games and activities for self-study. Dental assisting faculty has the challenge of simulating a clinical environment and making a student comfortable and confident before they are with a patient in a real clinical setting. This text with the companion CD-ROM does just that.
Coding Guide for Dental Services by 
Dental Charting - A Standard Approach by
This comprehensive resource is the only one of its kind dedicated exclusively to dental charting techniques. The standard approach is proposed because different methods are used and taught. Dental charting procedures are designed and illustrated using three types of coding systems: anatomic, geometric, and numeric. Photographs and radiographs of each restoration and condition are included to provide an accurate visual representation of the information being charted. Information on forensics and computerized dental charting, and dental charting flash cards are available as on-line companions.(Dental hygiene, Dental Assisting, Dental Assist., Dental Assistant, Dental Hygienist, charting)
Emergency Guide for Dental Auxiliaries by
Medical emergencies can and do occur within the dental office environment. A large percentage of these emergencies could be prevented or at least better treated if all the members of the dental team were more knowledgeable in the prevention and management of emergency situations. Emergency Guide for Dental Auxiliaries, 3e is designed to provide dental auxiliaries with the basic skills and knowledge necessary in order for them to function effectively as part of the dental team when faced with a medical emergency. A must for all dental auxiliaries working in dental offices to stay up to date on possible medical emergencies, First Aid skills, and important information on the legal aspect of emergency care in the dental office.(key words: dental, dentist, dental auxiliaries, dental emergency, dental assisting)
The Administrative Dental Assistant by 
Concepts in Nonsurgical Periodontal Therapy by 
The Dental Assistant by
This newly revised version of The Dental Assistant provides comprehensive information for shorter programs allowing users to extract specific information and use the remaining material as a supplemental resource and on-the-job reference. Readers will appreciate the user-friendly format and easy-to-understand language. Review questions reinforce chapter material and aid in preparation for certification and licensure examinations under that state Dental Practice Act. OSHA guidelines are included to focus attention on the importance of safety and infection control. *Step-by-step procedures give students a practical understanding of the process *Dental specialities have been expanded to give students a more in-depth understanding of each *Key terms are defined both within the text and the glossary, facilitating learning *Suggested activities strengthen comprehension and reinforce procedure exercises *New chapters introduce digital radiographic imaging so students understand electronic imaging methods *Pharmacology chapter provides an overall classification of drugs found in a dental office *Includes more illustrations and tables than previous editions, making it easier comprehension of material and quicker reference (KEYWORDS: Comprehensive, Dental Assisting, Key Terms, Dental Specialities, Procedures)
Dental Assisting : A Comprehensive Approach by 
Dental Assisting Coloring Book by 
Dental Terminology by 
Essentials of Dental Radiography for Dental Assistants and Hygienists by 
Four-Handed Dentistry by
This review of sit-down, four-handed dentistry is an ideal how-to reference manual for the entire dental health team. Extensively illustrated with step-by-step procedure boxes and "how to" pictures, it outlines the implementation of efficient procedures for a productive stress free clinical environment--i.e., how to practice efficiently and how to select equipment that is ergonomically sound--that will improve productivity and reduce strain. Coverage begins with an overview of the principles of four-handed dentistry and motion economy, moves on to treatment room design, types of delivery systems, and basic equipment selection, and then details the basic techniques used to promote ergonomic concepts during routine dental treatment, such as seating the patient and operating team, instrument transfer, oral evacuation. For dentists, dental students, dental assistants, or dental hygienists.
Head, Neck and Dental Anatomy by